Spirit of Indiana

    Athletics Logo


    IU's Athletic Legacy

    • 25 National Team Titles
      • Eight in Men's Soccer 
      • Six in Men's Swimming and Diving
      • Five in Men's Basketball
      • Three in Men's Cross Country
      • One in Men's Outdoor Track & Field
      • One in Women's Tennis
      • One in Wrestling
    • 143 Individual NCAA Titles
    • 191 Olympians 
      • Representing 22 countries
      • 49 Olympic gold medal winners 
      • 88 overall medal winners
    • 169 Big Ten Team Titles
    • 1,010 Big Ten Individual Titles

    IU Athletics Highlights, 2012-2013

    • Men's Soccer wins its eighth NCAA title.
    • Men's Basketball wins its first outright Big Ten conference title since 1992.
      • First back-to-back Sweet 16 appearances since 1994.
      • Victor Oladipo named National Player of the Year by The Sporting News.
    • Baseball makes its first trip ever to the College World Series.
      • First Big Ten team to advance to the CWS since 1984.
      • First outright Big Ten title in 81 years and conference tournament champions.
    • Derek Drouin becomes the first man to ever win five NCAA high jump titles
      • Also named National Field Athlete of the Year (in both indoor and outdoor) and the Jess Owens Award winner for the Best Big Ten Male Athlete of the Year.
    • Baseball Head Coach Tracy Smith and Men's Soccer Head Coach Todd Yeagley earn National Coach of the Year honors.
      • First time two IU coaches have earned national honors in the same year.
    • IU places second in the Men's Capital One Cup standings.
      • Highest finish in school history.
    • Seven student-athletes named Big Ten Athlete/Player of the Year.
      • Most in the Big Ten Conference.
    • 15 sports qualify for post season play.
    • Eight sports finish the season ranked in the nation's top 15.
    • 54 student-athletes named All-Americans.
    • Student-athletes earn an average cumulative GPA of 3.15.
    • 236 student-athletes earn Academic All-Big Ten distinction.
      • 55 student-athletes named Big Ten Distinguished Scholars.
    • IU wins the Crimson and Gold Cup once again.
      • Haven't lost this head-to-head competition against Purdue since 2006-2007.
    • Ciersten Burks (Women's Soccer) and Jordan Hulls (Men's Basketball) named the 2013 recipients of the Spirit of Indiana Director's Awards.

      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties