Track & Field

    Riddick and Bayer Take Titles on Day One at Big Tens

    Go Hoosiers! Monique Riddick won IU's fourth-straight title in the women's shot put.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Monique Riddick won IU's fourth-straight title in the women's shot put.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Feb. 24, 2012

    Results |  Photo Gallery 

    Results (PDF) Get Acrobat Reader

    LINCOLN, Neb. - The Hoosiers got a pair of titles on day one at the Big Ten Indoor Championships. Monique Riddick won IU's fourth-straight title in the women's shot put, dating back to the 2010 outdoor championships, and Andy Bayer won the men's 3,000 meters for the second-straight year. The IU men are in fourth with 24 points, and the women are tied for third with 24.

    Riddick entered the finals in third place, but took the lead on her first throw in the finals for the win. Her heave of 16.46m (54-1) is a season best and ranks 18th in Division I this season. The senior was the conference runner-up to teammate Faith Sherrill at the indoor meet a year ago and continues IU's streak in the event as Sherrill won the past two outdoor meets as well. Redshirt freshman M.J. Doan made the finals as well, posting a 76 centimeter improvement on her career mark with a throw of 15.22m (49-11.25) for ninth place.

    Bayer won the men's 3,000 in 8:01.38, holding off seven-time Big Ten Champion Hassan Mead of Minnesota by .38. Bayer won the event a year ago as well, becoming IU's second repeat champ in the event, joining IU legend Bob Kennedy, who won three straight, as the only 3K winners in school history. Ben Hubers took third in the event in 8:02.89, and Andrew Poore took sixth, meaning the Hoosiers scored 19 points in the race. Bayer and Hubers also advanced to Saturday's final in the mile on the day.

    In the women's distance medley relay, IU took second in 11:16.85. The time is the second-fastest in school history and ranks 16th in Division I this season. Breanne Ehrman led off in 3:27.2 on the 1,200 meter leg, Antonia Franklin clocked a split of 55.2 on the 400m leg, Ruth Christopher ran 2:10.2 for 800 meters and Kelsey Duerksen anchored the mile leg in 4:43.8.

    Kelsie Ahbe took third in the pole vault to score six points for the Hoosiers, clearing 4.18m (13-8.5) to earn her fourth career Big Ten medal.

    The men's DMR took fifth in 9:48.72, scoring four points for the Hoosier cause.

    Kind Butler advanced to the finals of the 60 meters and the 200 meters with times of 6.70 and 20.98. He qualified second in the 60 and first in the 200.

    Ehrman and Duerksen each advanced to the mile final as well, taking first and second in their heat.

    Chris Vaughn won his heat of the 400 meters in 48.05 to advance to a Saturday final. Ryan Hindes clocked a time of 1:18.49 to win his heat of the 600 and advance to the finals. His time is a new IU record, surpassing Rodney Hollis by .21 on the IU all-time list.

    Aireonna Bailey ran 7.53 to qualify in seventh for the Saturday 60-meter finals. Her time is the fifth-fastest in IU history.

    Next up for IU are the Big Ten Indoor Championships on Feb. 24-25 in Lincoln, Neb. For complete coverage of all things IU track and field, stay tuned to




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties