Track & Field

    Hoosiers Win Bragging Rights at Border Battle

    Go Hoosiers! Kelsey Duerksen won the 1,500 meters with a time of 4:19.81.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Kelsey Duerksen won the 1,500 meters with a time of 4:19.81.
    Go Hoosiers!

    April 14, 2012

    Complete Results

    LOUISVILLE, Ky. - The Border Battle: "Kentuckiana" provided plenty of drama on Saturday, and it wasn't just because of a lightning delay. The Hoosierland (Indiana and Notre Dame) took the win over the Commonwealth (Louisville and Kentucky), with the men and women from Indiana prevailing. The men from the Hoosier state won 113-81 and the women won a dramatic finish 101.5-100.5. IU won 11 events in the meet.

    IU dominated in the 1,500-meter races. On the women's side, Kelsey Duerksen won in a time of 4:19.81, which ranks fourth in IU history, surpassing Molly Beckwith on the all-time list. Duerksen's time leads the Big Ten this season. In the men's race, IU went 1-2-3. De'Sean Turner won in 3:46.22, Andy Weatherford was second in 3:46.64 and Zach Mayhew was third in 3:47.98.

    Darius King won the men's high jump, clearing 2.21m (7-3). King ranks second in the Big Ten this season and is tied for sixth nationally. Travis Jauregui cleared 2.10 (6-10.75) for third, putting himself into the top eight in the Big Ten this season.

    Kind Butler dominated the 400 meters, clocking a winning time of 46.31. He was 2.25 seconds ahead of the second-place runner. His time is the seventh-best in school history and ranks third in the Big Ten this season. Butler then ran the second leg on the 4x100m relay, helping Tyler Sult, Chris Vaughn and Nick Stoner to a time of 40.40 to win. They were 1.05 seconds better than the second-place team.



    Vaughn won the 200 in 21.03, tying himself for third in the Big Ten this season. Vaughn then anchored a relay team with Stoner, Sult, and Ryan Hindes to second in the 4x400m relay with a season best time of 3:11.41. Vaughn's split on the anchor was a blazing 45.7 seconds.

    In the 800, Andy Bayer and Danny Stockberger were first and second in 1:49.17 and 1:49.31. In the women's race, Jordan Gray took second in 2:07.88.

    In the 5,000, IU won the men's and women's race, with Helene DeLone finishing in 17:15.57 for the win in the women's race and Nate Morrow clocking a 14:41.54 to win the men's race.

    Derek Drouin won the javelin with a heave of 54.35m (178-3), and Casey Smith, in his debut for IU track and field, was second with a throw of 46.77m (153-5).

    Nolan Fife won the men's 3,000m steeplechase in a time of 9:03.39. Kelsie Ahbe cleared 3.96m (12-11.75) for the win in the pole vault.

    Other key marks for the Hoosiers included Monique Riddick, who was second in the hammer throw at 54.05m (177-4). Riddick's throw ranks fourth in IU history. Kyla Buckley's throw of 16.11m (52-10.25) was good for second in the shot put and ranks sixth in IU history and fifth in the Big Ten this season. The women's 4x400m relay of Ruth Christopher, Aireonna Bailey, Gray and Antonia Franklin clocked a time of 3:41.39 for second place. The time ranks eighth in IU history.

    Next weekend the Hoosiers host the first meet of the season at Billy Hayes Track. The Polytan Invitational will take place on April 21-22. For complete coverage of all things IU track and field, stay tuned to


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties