Track & Field

    Rain Interrupts the Hayes Invite

    Go Hoosiers! Taja Moore was the collegiate winner of the discus.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Taja Moore was the collegiate winner of the discus.
    Go Hoosiers!

    May 5, 2012

    Complete Results

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Indiana track and field looked to have ideal conditions at the Billy Hayes Invitational, but Mother Nature had other ideas, making herself known at 8:20 p.m., and forcing a lightning delay that lasted more than three hours. The Hoosiers were still able to win eight events.

    The Hoosiers got a time of 40.08 in the 4x100m relay from Tyler Sult, Kind Butler, Chris Vaughn and Nick Stoner. The time was .79 seconds better than the second-place team. The time is tied for seventh in IU history and ranks 18th in the East region this season.

    Butler clocked a time of 10.42, which was fastest in the 100-meter prelims. He passed the finals, but his time was faster than all of the other finalists.

    Ann-Marie Clarke took the win in the women's long jump, leaping 6.08m (19-11). Her mark is the eighth-best in school history.

    Taja Moore was the collegiate winner of the women's discus with a heave of 49.53m (162-6) which ranks eighth in IU history. Her mark ranks 26th in the East region this season

    Kelsie Ahbe won the women's pole vault, clearing 4.00m (13-1.5). Shona Dunkley won the women's 400m hurdles in 1:03.20, shedding more than a half second off her career best.

    In the women's invitational 1,500m, Samantha Ginther won in 4:31.83, shedding 1.5 seconds off her career mark in the event.

    The postseason begins next weekend, as IU heads to the Big Ten Championships in Madison, Wis. For complete coverage of all things IU track and field, stay tuned to




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties