Track & Field

    Mayhew Leads IU in Season Opener

    Go Hoosiers! Sophomore Brie Roller took the win in the women's 500m
    Go Hoosiers!
    Sophomore Brie Roller took the win in the women's 500m
    Go Hoosiers!

    Dec. 7, 2012

    Complete Results |  Photo Gallery 

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Indiana track and field opened its season with the Hoosier Open. Zach Mayhew highlighted the meet for IU, taking second in the elite men's 5,000, and Kelsey Duerksen won the women's 5,000, taking the top spot on the national list.

    Mayhew finished second in an elite 5,000m race, clocking a time of 13:51.79. All six finishers in the race were faster than the collegiate leader entering the weekend, putting Mayhew second on the national list in the young season. Mayhew's time is a two-second improvement on his career best and ranks fifth in IU history.

    Freshman Cornelius Strickland made a splash in his collegiate debut, winning the 60 meters in 6.87 seconds. The time ranks 10th in IU history. The Gary, Ind., native led an all IU finish as Nick Turner was second in 6.91 and Tyler Sult was third in 6.99.

    Kelsey Duerksen and Samantha Ginther went 1-2 in the women's 5,000m invitational. Duerksen's time of 16:37.27 ranks sixth in IU history and leads the country this season.

    Sophomore Brie Roller took the win in the women's 500m, clocking a time of 1:14.89 that was 1.22 seconds faster than the rest of the field. The Hoosiers took the top five spots in the event. The Brooklyn native also ran the third leg on IU's winning 4x400m relay which finished in 3:54.04.

    IU won the men's 4x400m relay as well, getting a time of 3:18.05 out of Reggie Smith, Cortland Etgen, Lance Roller and Nathan Pierre-Louis. Roller, a fifth-year transfer, teamed with the three freshman to knock off the field by 1.42 seconds. Roller also took second in the men's 1,000m in 2:26.56, and Pierre-Louis was third in the 500m by just .32 seconds.

    Robby Nierman won the men's 3,000 in 8:16.85, and Nolan Fife won the men's mile in 4:11.34, with Carl Smith, competing unattached finishing second in 4:12.81 and IU's JR Ricker third in 4:14.02.

    The Hoosiers went 1-4 among collegiate in the women's 1,000m, as Arianne Raby took second behind Jordan Gray, who ran unattached. Raby finished in 2:54.37.

    IU went 1-2-3 in the women's pole vault with Sophie Gutermuth winning and Sydney Clute and Angie Smith tying for second. All three cleared 3.55m (11-7.75).

    For complete coverage of all things IU track and field, stay tuned to




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties