Track & Field

    IU Track Set for First Road Trip

    Go Hoosiers! Junior Samantha Gwin
    Go Hoosiers!
    Junior Samantha Gwin
    Go Hoosiers!

    Jan. 30, 2013

    Meyo Invitational & SIU Invitational - Feb. 1-2, 2013
    Meet Info Meyo Meet Info | SIU Meet Info
    Live Results/Coverage Meyo Live Results | Meyo Flotrack Coverage
    Meet Notes Indiana Weekly Notes Get Acrobat Reader
    Additional Info USTFCCCA InfoZone Home Page - Meyo | USTFCCCA InfoZone Home Page - SIU

    Indiana hits the road for the first time this season, competing at Notre Dame's Meyo Invitational and the SIU Invitational this weekend. The meet in South Bend provides the Hoosiers with the opportunity to compete on an oversized track, much like the SPIRE Institute track that will host the Big Ten Indoor Championships in late February. The Meyo Invite takes place on Feb. 1-2, with action starting at 4 p.m. ET on Friday and at 10 a.m. ET on Saturday. The Indiana throwers will compete at Southern Illinois.

    Coverage of the Meyo Invitational will be available at, as the website will provide race videos, interviews and more from the competition.

    At the 2012 Meyo Invite, IU got a school record in the pole vault from Kelsie Ahbe, an NCAA auto time in the 3,000m from Andy Bayer and a win in the men's DMR among other standout performances. The Loftus Center has always been a friendly facility to the Hoosiers, as seven IU indoor records were set in the building.

    The Indiana Relays served as Derek Drouin's season debut in the high jump and he did not disappoint, clearing 7' 6.25" to tie himself for the best mark in collegiate high jump. The meet also produced three sub-four minute miles by Indiana alums.

    Drouin cleared 2.29m (7-6.25) to win the high jump, tying himself with Kansas State's Erik Kynard and Ricky Robertson of Ole Miss for the lead in Division I.

    Drouin won the long jump with a best mark of 7.08m (23-2.75), and all six of his jumps were better than the second-place jumper. Drouin also took seventh in the men's 60m hurdle final with a time of 8.07. All after tying for the collegiate lead in the high jump on Friday night.

    The men's mile invitational proved to be the race of the meet, as IU alums Andrew Poore, De'Sean Turner and Ben Hubers all broke the four-minute barrier. Poore won in 3:58.85 to become the seventh person born in the State of Indiana to run a sub-four mile, joining Turner (3:59.17). Hubers ran 3:59.83 to break four for the first time in his career. Indiana's Zach Mayhew was sixth in 4:00.85, putting himself 10th on the all-time IU list.

    The IU men buried the field in the 4x800m, winning by more than seven seconds. Adam Behnke, Jordan Gornall, Robby Nierman and Zach Mayhew finished in 7:30.54, finishing just .04 off the Gladstein Fieldhouse record that has stood since 1978.

    The women's mile invite was won by Kelsey Duerksen in 4:41.61, the sixth-fastest time in IU history. Arianne Raby was fourth in 4:45.06 to move into eighth on the all-time IU list.

    JR Ricker won the 5,000m invitational with a time of 14:13.84, which ranks second in the Big Ten this season behind only teammate Mayhew. Sarah Maxson won the women's open high jump, clearing 1.68m (5-6).

    Kyla Buckley took third in the shot put and weight throw invitationals, launching career bests in both events. Buckley launched a bomb of 16.44m (53-11.25) in the shot put. Buckley's mark was 18.83m (61-9.5) in the weight throw.

    Indiana's women took second in the 4x800m relay with a time of 8:50.95 which ranks fifth all-time in the IU record books. The Hoosiers finished behind only Notre Dame, who broke the Gladstein Fieldhouse record with a time of 8:47.94.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties