Track & Field

    NCAA Prize on the Line in Arkansas

    Go Hoosiers! Junior Kyla Buckley
    Go Hoosiers!
    Junior Kyla Buckley
    Go Hoosiers!

    March 6, 2013

    Last Year's Meet

    Indiana Men6th, 25 points
    D. King & Men's DMR2nd place

    March 9-10, 2012
    Boise, Idaho
    King Takes 2nd, Hoosiers Finish 6th
    Indiana's men's track and field team finished sixth at the 2012 NCAA Indoor Championships with 25 points, finishing just two points out of the top five and as the top team from the Big Ten. IU is a top-10 team for the third straight year at the indoor championships. Sophomore Darius King finished tied for second in the men's high jump to lead the way for IU on the final day. Andy Bayer took fifth in the mile, and the 4x400m relay finished eighth.

    2013 NCAA Indoor Championships - March 8-9
    Meet Info Meet Schedule | Start Lists
    Coverage Live Results | Flotrack Coverage
    Notes Meet NotesGet Acrobat Reader
    Additional Info IU History Book | Meet Record Book
    USTFCCCA InfoZone Meet History

    The 2013 indoor track and field season culminates this weekend at the NCAA Indoor Championships in Fayetteville, Ark., at the Randal Tyson Track Center. The Hoosiers will be represented by four individuals and a men's distance medley relay. The meet will be webcast live on (portions on and live results, including field events, will be provided at

    Andy Bayer, Kyla Buckley, Derek Drouin and Zach Mayhew are qualified as individuals, while Bayer, Rorey Hunter, Nathan Pierre-Louis and Lance Roller will run on IU's DMR. Fayetteville hosted the 2010 NCAA Indoor Championships, where Bayer made his NCAA debut and Drouin won his first of three NCAA titles in the high jump.

    Mayhew and Bayer enters the meet seeded ninth and 10th respectively in the 3,000 meters. Buckley ranks 10th in the shot put, and Drouin is seeded second in the high jump. In the distance medley, IU enters with the 11th-best qualifying time.

    Indiana's men will have their work cut out for them to match the team finish from the past two seasons, as IU finished sixth in 2011 and 2012. IU enters the meet ranked 19th nationally. Buckley will look to score for the women's team, as IU's women went scoreless indoors and outdoors in 2012.

    Bayer and Drouin will look to become the first Hoosiers ever to earn All-America honors four times in the same event during the indoor season. Bayer is a three-time indoor All-American in the 3,000 and the DMR, and Drouin is a three-timer in the high jump.

    Indiana's distance medley relay team entered the last chance weekend ranked second nationally. With 12 teams advancing, the Hoosiers could have stayed home, but head coach Ron Helmer decided to run to protect their spot, and ever was he right to do so. The top 16 teams at Notre Dame's Alex Wilson Invitational all ran faster than the national leader. The Hoosiers took 11th, and punched their ticket to Fayetteville, Ark., for this weekend's NCAA Indoor Championships.

    The quartet of Rorey Hunter, Nathan Pierre-Louis, Lance Roller and Andy Bayer ran 9:31.11, for third in the final heat of three, taking 11th place overall. Hunter led off in 2:54.9 over the first 1,200m before handing off to Pierre-Louis, who clocked a split of 47.7 on the 400m leg. Roller was up next, clocking a 1:48.8 over 800, and he handed off to Bayer, whose 3:59.4 was enough to run another week. The time of 9:31.11 ranks fourth in IU history. This will mark IU's fifth-straight trip to NCAAs in the DMR.

    Scott Houston won the men's pole vault, clearing 5.17m (16-11.5). He got one attempt at 5.42m (17-9.25), the likely height necessary for NCAA qualification, after missing twice at 5.32m, but he missed on the attempt.

    Roller ran 1:49.52 for 11th place in the 800m. The time is the second fastest in IU history, and he becomes Indiana's seventh man to break 1:50 indoors. Roller's time is second to only Danny Stockberger, who ran 1:49.05 a year ago at the same meet to set the record.

    Sydney Clute took fifth in the pole vault, clearing 3.88m (12-8.75). In the women's 400m, La Toya Williams ran 55.69 seconds, moving herself into 10th in the all-time IU records. Robby Nierman was 10th in the mile, clocking a time of 4:02.77.

    At the Arkansas Final Qualifier, Emma Kimoto won the women's high jump, clearing 1.78m (5-10). She got three attempts at 1.84m (6-0.5), the likely NCAA qualifying height, but missed all three.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties