Track & Field

    IU Track Hosts Polytan Invite on Saturday

    Go Hoosiers! Redshirt sophomore Samantha Ginther
    Go Hoosiers!
    Redshirt sophomore Samantha Ginther
    Go Hoosiers!

    April 17, 2013

    Polytan Invitational - April 20
    Meet Info Meet Schedule | Home Meet Information
    Coverage Live Results
    Notes Meet NotesGet Acrobat Reader
    Additional Info IU History Book | USTFCCCA InfoZone Meet History

    The Polytan Invitational is the first outdoor home meet of the season for IU Track and Field. The meet will feature Notre Dame, Ball State, Butler, South Florida and others. Action will begin at 4:30 p.m. ET on Saturday, with the women's hammer throw and men's javelin starting things off in the field. As always, admission is free for regular season IU track meets. Live Results will be available at, and you can follow the meet on Twitter via @IUTrackXC.

    Some potential meet highlights include, Andy Bayer in his first 1,500m race of the season, starting at 6:50 p.m. ET, and the 3,000m steeplechase races, including IU alum Andrew Poore.

    Indiana track and field competed at the Border Battle on Saturday, teaming with Notre Dame to take on Louisville and Kentucky in a state vs. state battle. The "Commonwealth" prevailed over the "Hoosierland" in the meet on the men's and women's sides, breaking a two-year win streak by IU and Notre Dame and evening the series to two wins for both sides over the four years of the meet. The women's meet came down to two points, with the Commonwealth prevailing 101-99, and the Commonwealth's men took the meet 103-97. Indiana scored 50 of the 97 points for the men.

    Caitlin Engel won the women's steeplechase with a time of 10:27.27. That time ranks second in the Big Ten this season. The women's 5,000m went to Molly Winters, who clocked a time of 17:08.28 to win by more than 10 seconds.

    Cornelius Strickland ran to a tie for first in the 100m dash, clocking a season best time of 10.56 seconds. He also took second in the 200 in 20.96, which ranks third in the Big Ten. Chris Vaughn was third in the 200 in 21.38.

    Sydney Clute won the women's pole vault, clearing 3.88m (12-8.75), which ranks fourth in the Big Ten and fifth all-time in the IU record books.

    IU won the men's 4x100m relay in 40.87, bettering Notre Dame by .01. IU relay consisted of Nick Turner, Strickland, Vaughn and Nick Stoner.

    Emma Kimoto took second in the high jump on misses, clearing the winning height of 1.81m (5-11.25). That matches her career best, which is tied for second-best in IU history, and is tied for first in the Big Ten this season. Steven Turpin won the men's pole vault, clearing 5.00m (16-4.75). Matt Birk and Derek Drouin took second and third respectively in the javelin. Birk's throw of 58.15m (190-9) ranks sixth in IU history. Drouin was second in the 110m hurdles in 14.04 seconds. That ranks ninth in IU history.

    Taja Moore took third in the discus, launching the disc 52.82m (173-4), which ranks second all-time at Indiana and third in the Big Ten this season.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties