Track & Field

    IU Ready for Penn Relays

    Go Hoosiers! Senior Zach Mayhew
    Go Hoosiers!
    Senior Zach Mayhew
    Go Hoosiers!

    April 24, 2013

    Penn Relays - April 25-27
    Meet Info Indiana Schedule | Full Schedule
    Coverage Indiana Results | Full Results | Live Video ($)
    Notes Meet NotesGet Acrobat Reader
    Additional Info IU History Book | USTFCCCA InfoZone Meet History

    The Penn Relay Carnival is the longest continuously run college track meet in the world and annually draws some of the best crowds in the world for a track meet. The Hoosiers have a steep tradition at the meet, including 13 Championship of America Relay Championships and four Penn Relays Wall of Famers, but IU will look to end a long drought this weekend as the last of those titles came in 1954. The meet begins on Thursday and concludes on Saturday, which live coverage available at and on NBC on Saturday.

    Derek Drouin will look to defend his high jump title from a year ago and win his third Penn Relays watch in three trips. Andy Bayer will look to help end IU's relay drought, as he will anchor IU's distance medley relay and 4xMile Relay. IU's last "Wagon Wheel" came in 1954 in the 4xMile. Last year at the meet, IU took home titles in the 5,000m (Zach Mayhew), 3,000m Steeplechase (Andrew Poore) and the high jump (Drouin). The Hoosiers have had seven individual event winners at the meet since returning to Franklin Field in 2010 after a hiatus.

    Indiana track and field hosted the Polytan Invitational on Saturday, and several Hoosiers posted big-time performances. Derek Drouin increased his season best in the high jump, Andy Bayer moved into the nation's top five in the 1,500m, and Emma Kimoto cleared a school record to enter the nation's top 10 in the high jump.

    Drouin won the high jump, clearing 2.31m (7-7), adding a centimeter to his season best in the event. Drouin was one of only three competitors in the event and won by more than 10 inches. Drouin's clearance broke the Robert C. Haugh Track & Field Complex record in the high jump, which was set by Ivan Wagner in 1997 as he won the NCAA Championships hosted by IU that season.

    Bayer clocked a time of 3:41.52 to win by more than four seconds. His time is just .20 off the Big Ten lead and ranks fifth in Division I this season.

    Kimoto took the Big Ten lead with her school record clearance of 1.83m (6-0). Kimoto won by six inches. She leads the Big Ten and is tied for eighth in Division I this season.

    The men's steeplechase saw IU alum Andrew Poore win, running for adidas. His time of 8:36.27 is the best this season in the U.S. and ranks eighth in the world. Robby Nierman was second in 8:55.37, which ranks second in the Big Ten this season.

    Matt Birk won the javelin throw with a throw of 61.38m (201-4). The mark ranks fifth in IU history.

    IU won the men's 4x400m relay with a time of 3:13.63. Taja Moore won the women's discus with a throw of 48.39m (158-9). Samantha Ginther won the women's steeplechase in 10:31.01. Chris Vaughn won the men's 400m dash with a time of 47.50. Kelsey Duerksen won the women's 1,500m in 4:26.92.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties