Track & Field

    35th Annual Billy Hayes Invite Set for Friday

    Go Hoosiers! Senior Jordan Gray
    Go Hoosiers!
    Senior Jordan Gray
    Go Hoosiers!

    May 1, 2013

    35th Annual Billy Hayes Invitational - May 3
    Meet Info Schedule of Events | Meet Information
    Coverage Live Results
    Notes Meet NotesGet Acrobat Reader
    Additional Info IU History Book | USTFCCCA InfoZone Meet History

    The Billy Hayes Invitational has served as the regular season finale for Indiana Track & Field since its inaugural meeting in 1978. This season, the 35th annual BIlly Hayes Invitational will provide the Hoosiers with one final tune up before the Big Ten Outdoor Championships on May 10-12. The meet begins at 2 p.m. ET on Friday, May 3 at the Robert C. Haugh Track and Field Complex.

    The Penn Relays provide one of the biggest annual spectacles in track and field, and Indiana was able to contribute to the fanfare, getting a meet record from Derek Drouin and a 3:55 DMR anchor for Andy Bayer.

    Drouin's winning clearance of 2.33m (7-7.75) in the high jump broke a 37-year old Franklin Field record that was held by two-time Olympic medalist and three-time world record holder Dwight Stones since 1976 and a 13-year old meet record held by collegiate jumping legend Mark Boswell. Drouin won his third Penn Relays title in three trips, becoming the sixth three-time Penn Relays high jump champion in the history of the meet, and only Sam Jones, who won from 1901 to 1904 for NYU, has ever won four times.

    IU went 1-2 in the college section of the women's pole vault as Sophie Gutermuth and Sydney Clute both cleared 3.90m (12-9.5). The clearance moves Gutermuth to number six on IU's all-time list.

    Indiana came up less than a second shy of its first College of America title since 1954, finishing second in the 4xMile Relay. Robby Nierman, Zach Mayhew, Adam Behnke and Andy Bayer clocked a time of 16:18.29, which ranks second in IU history.

    Nick Turner, Cornelius Strickland, Chris Vaughn and Nick Stoner took fifth in the men's 4x100m Championship of America, clocking a time of 41.04. The Hoosiers qualified for the Championship of America final in a sprint relay for the third consecutive year.

    In the men's Distance Medley Championship of America, Bayer anchored the Hoosiers to the second-best time in school history, 9:29.02. Bayer's anchor split of 3:55.6 is the 14th fastest in Penn Relays history and was three seconds faster than any other anchor in the race. IU's time of 9:29.02 is faster than the winning times in the event at Penn Relays in every season since 2005.

    IU took third in the men's Shuttle Hurdles Championship of America, clocking a time of 59.43.

    Derek Messmer took second in the college section of the men's pole vault, clearing 4.95m (16-2.75). Richard Rouse, Jr., jumped 15.07m (49-5.5) for fourth in the men's college triple jump. Sarah Maxson took third in the women's college high jump, clearing 1.75m (5-8.75).

    Caitlin Engel took second in the women's 3,000m steeplechase, clocking a time of 10:20.69, which is just .01 seconds off her lifetime best. She now ranks fourth in the Big Ten this season.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties