Track & Field

    Drouin Among Men's Finalists for The Bowerman

    Go Hoosiers! Derek Drouin is Indiana's first ever finalist for The Bowerman Trophy
    Go Hoosiers!
    Derek Drouin is Indiana's first ever finalist for The Bowerman Trophy
    Go Hoosiers!

    July 10, 2013

    Drouin's Bowerman Resumé

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - A field of 10 deserving male candidates for The Bowerman Trophy -- the highest honor given to the most outstanding male and female student-athletes in collegiate track & field -- has been narrowed to the final three finalists, the Bowerman Advisory Board announced Wednesday.

    Derek Drouin of Indiana, Lawi Lalang of Arizona and Julian Wruck of UCLA have been selected as the final three men who will attend December's U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) Convention in Orlando in hopes of being named the most outstanding male collegiate track & field student-athlete of the 2013 season.

    Indiana track and field director and head coach Ron Helmer said that Drouin dominated collegiate high jumping on the season and staked his claim as one of the best in NCAA history.

    "Derek competed at an elite level all season with a level of consistency that is very rare in the high jump," said Helmer. "His dominance in collegiate competition this season was amazing to watch, and it is a great honor to have him represent Indiana University and Big Ten Conference as a finalist for The Bowerman Trophy."

    It was a banner year for Drouin, as the indoor and outdoor USTFCCCA Indoor and Outdoor National Field Athlete of the Year. He became the first to sweep both the indoor and outdoor NCAA Division I high jump titles in one academic year since he did so in 2010, becoming the NCAA's first five-time high jump champion. The Canadian won at heights of 7-8 (2.34m) or greater and took cracks at collegiate records at both championships. He finished unbeaten in nine collegiate high jump finals between indoors and outdoors. For his accomplishments on the year, Drouin was named the Jesse Owens Big Ten Male Athlete of the Year as the top athlete across all men's sports in the Big Ten Conference for 2012-13.



    Drouin is the second man from the Big Ten, and the first from Indiana, to be selected as a finalist, joining Andrew Riley of Illinois a year ago. The Big Ten has never had an athlete win the men's or women's Bowerman Trophy.

    Lalang won four NCAA Division I titles at four distances in 2013 with two each at the indoor and outdoor championships, and Wruck claimed the NCAA Division I discus crown after a season that saw him re-write the record books.

    In the coming weeks, dozens of select media personnel, track & field statisticians, and collegiate administrators will choose the top male and top female as the award winners. In addition, beginning July 29, fans can visit to submit their choices as online voting will account for one full vote in the process.

    Finalists were chosen by The Bowerman Advisory Board, a ten-person panel of experts in the sport, based on performances recorded during the indoor and outdoor 2013 track & field seasons. Only performances through the conclusion of the NCAA Outdoor Track & Field Championships are used in consideration.

    The winners will be first announced during a ceremony held in conjunction with the USTFCCCA Convention. The finalists and their families will be invited to take part in the special event that will be held at the JW Marriott Grande Lakes in Orlando, Fla., on December 18.

    For complete coverage of all things IU track and field, stay tuned to


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties