Varsity Club

    Scholastic Achievement Winners Recognized at Men's Basketball Game

    Go Hoosiers! 2013 Scholastic Achievement Award Winners
    Go Hoosiers!
    2013 Scholastic Achievement Award Winners
    Go Hoosiers!

    Feb. 14, 2013

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - The Indiana University Varsity Club recognized its 2013 Scholastic Achievement student-athletes at halftime during the Men's Basketball vs. Nebraska game on February 13.

    The Scholastic Achievement Award was established in 1979 by the IU Varsity Club to honor and acknowledge the academic excellence of one student-athlete every year in each of IU's 24 varsity sports. The award recognizes the athlete that attains the highest cumulative grade point average on his or her respective team.

    Dimitrije Tasic (men's tennis) and Kelsey Brannon (softball) also received the 2013 Jack D. Tichenor Award. This award was established in 1984 as a tribute to Tichenor, Bloomington publishing company owner, businessman, and entrepreneur. Awarded annually, the Jack D. Tichenor Award honors top male and female athletes who hold the highest individual grade point average (GPA) among all varsity sports.

    The award recipients will be added to the Scholastic Achievement and Jack D. Tichenor plaques on permanent display in the north lobby of Assembly Hall and inside the D. Ames Shuel Academic Center.

    2013 Scholastic Achievement Award Winners
    Baseball: Trace Knoblauch
    Men's Basketball: Jordan Hulls
    Women's Basketball: Andrea Newbauer
    Men's Cross Country: Andrew Bayer
    Women's Cross Country: Erica Ridderman
    Men's Diving: George Andrews
    Women's Diving: Kate Hillman
    Field Hockey: Hannah Boyer
    Football: Adam Replogle
    Men's Golf: David Mills
    Women's Golf: Kate Coons
    Rowing: Kim Gilmour
    Men's Soccer: Harrison Petts
    Women's Soccer: Rebecca Dreher
    Softball: Kelsey Brannon*
    Men's Swimming: Michael Mohler
    Women's Swimming: Brenna MacLean
    Men's Tennis: Dimitrije Tasic*
    Women's Tennis: Leslie Hureau
    Men's Track & Field: Steven Turpin
    Women's Track & Field: Samantha Gwin
    Volleyball: Jordan Haverly
    Water Polo: Meghan Lappan
    Wrestling: Preston Keiffer

    *Jack D. Tichenor Award recipient



      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties