Varsity Club

    Hoosier Highlights: Spring 2014

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!

    May 29, 2014

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- We’ve had a busy spring in IU Athletics with several programs seeing postseason play. We're proud to share with you a number of Hoosier highlights from the past few months.

    • IU Baseball won the Big Ten Tournament and were the outright Big Ten Champions for the second straight season. IU swept the major conference awards with Tracy Smith once again being named Big Ten Coach of the Year, first baseman Sam Travis named Big Ten Player of the Year, and Joey DeNato named Big Ten Pitcher of the Year. The Hoosiers also set a Big Ten record for the most First Team All-Big Ten selections by having eight players honored. Heading into this weekend’s NCAA Bloomington Regional, the Hoosiers are the No. 4 national seed (the first Big Ten program to earn a national seed).
    • IU Rowing is having its best season in program history. Ranked 13th in the nation, the Hoosiers finished a best ever fourth at the Big Ten Championships and were selected to compete in the NCAA Championships for the first time. The NCAA Championships take place in Indianapolis May 30th-June 1st at Eagle Creek Park.  
    • IU Water Polo won the conference regular season and tournament championships. The Hoosiers qualified for the NCAA Tournament where they finished seventh nationally. Barry King was named Conference Coach of the Year, and Shae Fournier was named Conference Player of the Year, setting IU career records for goals and assists. 
    • Women’s Swimming and Diving finished 12th at NCAA’s and second in the Big Ten. Brooklynn Snodgrass won the NCAA championship in the 200 backstroke, becoming just the second women’s swimmer in IU history to win an individual NCAA championship. Swimmer Gia Dalesandro was named Big Ten Freshman of the Year.
    • Men’s Swimming and Diving Finished 10th at NCAA’s and second in the Big Ten. IU has finished in the top 10 at NCAA’s for 3 years in a row, a first for IU since 1980. First year head diving coach Drew Johansen was named Men's Big Ten Diving Coach of the Year, while diver Darian Schmidt was named Big Ten Diver of the Year.
    • This year, Women’s Tennis Head Coach Lin Loring became the first women’s tennis coach in history to win 800 career matches. The Hoosiers went 19-9 this year.
    • In the classroom, IU excelled with 15 of our teams earning a perfect 1,000 APR score for the 2012-13 school year. The NCAA also recognized the men's basketball, men's cross country, men's golf, men's soccer, men's outdoor track and field and women's tennis teams with APR Public Recognition Awards, which are given to high-performing teams that posted multiyear APRs in the top 10 percent of all teams in their particular sports. Men's Basketball was the only Big Ten basketball program with a perfect APR score and Coach Crean is the only Big Ten coach to ever earn four straight perfect scores.
    • This year, IU had four teams win conference championships, the most in over 15 years (Baseball Big Ten and Tournament Champions, Men’s Cross Country Big Ten Champions, Men’s Soccer Big Ten Tournament Champions and Collegiate Water Polo Association Champions).



    Thank you, Varsity Club donors. You made these Hoosier Highlights possible! Your support creates opportunities for Hoosier athletes to excel and follow their dreams. We’re looking forward to sharing more Hoosier Highlights with you this coming fall!

      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties