Hoosiers Earn Big Ten Title Outright With 8-1 Win At Ohio State

    Go Hoosiers! Kyle Hart
    Go Hoosiers!
    Kyle Hart
    Go Hoosiers!

    May 18, 2013

    Final Stats

    COLUMBUS, Ohio - For the first time since 1932, Indiana won the outright Big Ten baseball title by clinically dispatching Ohio State, 8-1, on the road. The Hoosiers (40-13, 17-7), handled the Buckeyes (34-21, 15-9) behind a masterful pitching performance from Kyle Hart and strong offensive production out of the gate.

    It is the fifth time the Hoosiers have won the regular season Big Ten title and just the third time they have won it outright (1925, 1932, 2013). They were co-champions is 1938 and 1949.

    Indiana got it rolling early by touching up Ohio State starter Jeron Long for two runs in the first inning on a double by senior Michael Basil. Ohio State countered with their only run of the game in the bottom of the first, after Kyle Hart walked Joe Ciamacco and yielded a double to Kirby Pellant.

    The Hoosiers kept their foot on the gas in the second inning behind an RBI single from Kyle Schwarber and a two-run double by Sam Travis. The Hoosiers tacked on another run in the third as Casey Smith singled home Basil to make it 6-1 Hoosiers.

    Kyle Hart settled in from there, going 8.1 innings and allowing just one run and four hits to advance his record to 8-2 on the season. The Hoosiers tacked on an insurance run in the eighth as Nick Ramos scored Basil from third on a sacrifice fly after Basil doubled earlier in the inning.



    A monster opposite field solo home run into the wind by Schwarber put the finishing touch on a superb offensive effort by the Hoosiers at Bill Davis Stadium and gave Indiana an 8-1 lead heading into the bottom of the ninth. Scott Effross relieved Hart to record the final two outs and secure Indiana's first outright regular season title since 1932.

    The Hoosiers will be the No. 1 seed at next week's Big Ten Tournament at Target Field in Minneapolis. The Hoosiers will play at 7:05 CT/8:05 ET on Thursday and all games will be carried on the Big Ten Network.

    - Indiana reaches 40 wins in a season for the first time since 1996
    -Kyle Schwarber hit his Big Ten leading 14th home run of the season.
    - Indiana's 40 wins are the most ever over Division-I opponents in school history (previous record was 33)
    -IU has recorded a +183 run margin in 53 games
    -All three IU starting pitchers went at least 8.0 innings this week against Ohio State


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties