Mike Smith Named to the NBCHOF Ballot

    Go Hoosiers! Former Hoosier Mike Smith has been named to the National College Baseball Hall of Fame Ballot.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Former Hoosier Mike Smith has been named to the National College Baseball Hall of Fame Ballot.
    Go Hoosiers!

    March 2, 2007

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Former Hoosier Mike Smith has been named to the official ballot for the National College Baseball Hall of Fame. More than 300 candidates were originally nominated to be on the ballot, and Smith is one of just 26 players to make the cut on the final ballot.

    "I truly had no idea and am very humbled to be on that list," Smith said. "Getting elected to the IU Hall of Fame was at the top of the list for me, and this is right behind. It's an honor to represent IU on the ballot."

    The former shortstop hit .369 in his IU career, smashing 47 home runs and driving in 185 runs in his four years. In 1992, Smith posted one of the best seasons in NCAA history, hitting .490 with 27 home runs and 95 RBIs to lead the nation in all three categories. He remains the only player in college baseball lore to win the triple crown. Smith, who also won the Big Ten triple crown that season, earned first team All-America laurels following his 1992 campaign.

    The list of legendary former players include Barry Larkin and Jim Abbott of Michigan, Mickey Sullivan of Baylor, Jackie Jensen of California, Tim Wallach of Cal State Fullerton, Derek Tatsuno of Hawai'i, Pete Incaviglia of Oklahoma State, Billy Swift of Maine, Neal Heaton of Miami, Paul Molitor of Minnesota, B. J. Surhoff of North Carolina, Joe Carter and Phil Stephenson of Wichita State, Steve Arlin of Ohio State, Keith Moreland and Greg Swindell of Texas, Fred Lynn and Hank Workman of USC, John Olerud of Washington State, Kevin McReynolds of Arkansas, Rafael Palmiero of Mississippi State, Ben McDonald of LSU, Mike Smith of Indiana, Bob Gibson of Creighton, Eddie Bane of Arizona State and Dick Howser of Florida State.

    The College Baseball Hall of Fame Class of 2007 will be announced at the completion of voting in mid-March and officially inducted during a three-day celebration of collegiate baseball. The CBF plans to kick off the celebration on Monday, July 2, with the first annual Mayor's Kickoff Breakfast, followed by the fourth annual Brooks Wallace College Baseball Player of the Year Award dinner to be held at the United Spirit Arena, on the campus of Texas Tech University on Tuesday, July 3. The 2007 Hall of Fame Class will be in attendance and recognized at the ceremony, then make their acceptance speeches during the Official Induction Ceremonies on July 4 as part of the annual 4th on Broadway Festival in Lubbock, Texas.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties