Baseball

    Sabourin Named All-Big Ten/BIG EAST Challenge

    Go Hoosiers! Jerrud Sabourin had an impressive weekend at the Big Ten/BIG EAST Challenge.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Jerrud Sabourin had an impressive weekend at the Big Ten/BIG EAST Challenge.
    Go Hoosiers!

    March 2, 2010

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Indiana first baseman Jerrud Sabourin has been named to the Big Ten/BIG EAST Challenge All-Tournament team, CollegeBaseball360.com announced. Sabourin was selected as the team's first baseman after hitting .462 with two doubles and four RBI on the weekend.

    Sabourin got his challenge off to a scorching start, going 4-for-5 with three RBI in the Hoosiers' opener against West Virginia. Each of his base hits led to a Hoosier run in the game. In the first, he started things with an RBI double to plate IU's first run; in the third, he singled and scored the third of four runs in the frame; in the sixth, his two-run double broke a 6-6 tie; and in the eighth, he singled and scored what turned out to be the winning run over the Mountaineers.

    He also had two hits against Villanova, including the Hoosiers' only RBI. Sabourin finished the weekend going 6-for-13 with three runs and a 1.115 OPS. The San Diego native's career batting average of .364 is 10th in school history.

    He also was brilliant defensively, recording three assists and scooping a number of balls at first base for the Hoosiers, making 33 putouts on the weekend. He has now started 125 straight games at first base for IU.

    This weekend, the Hoosiers head south to the Music City Classic, hosted by Vanderbilt University. IU will take on Illinois State (Friday, 1 p.m. ET/Noon CT), Kent State (Saturday, 1 p.m. ET/Noon CT) and host Vanderbilt (Sunday, 5 p.m. ET/4 p.m. CT) at the round-robin event. Live audio and statistics for all three games will be available on IUHoosiers.com.

     

     

      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties