Spanos, Heckman Selected to All-Big Ten Team

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!
    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Indiana University baseball players senior Vasili Spanos and sophomore Corby Heckman were named to the All-Big Ten Conference baseball teams, the league office announced on Tuesday. Spanos earned first-team honors at third base while Heckman was tabbed for the third team at second base.

    After leading the Big Ten in batting average (.434), home runs (8), on-base percentage (.525) and slugging percentage (.778), Spanos earned first-team honors for the second straight season. His batting average in league games is more than 40 points higher than the next-best hitter in the Big Ten. The River Forest, Ill. (Oak Park HS), native is also the first Hoosier to lead the Big Ten in batting average and home runs since Mike Smith won the triple crown in 1992.

    In all games, Spanos also paces the team and the conference with a .400 batting average, a .706 slugging percentage and .505 on-base percentage. He ranks among the top five in IU history in home runs, RBI, extra-base hits and doubles. Spanos earned preseason All-American honors from the National Collegiate Baseball Writer's Association and was a third-team All-American by the American Baseball Coaches' Association as a junior in 2002.

    After a breakout season, Heckman is appearing on the All-Big Ten team for the first time in his career. He ranks among the top 10 hitters in the League with a .372 batting average overall and a .365 clip in Big Ten play. Heckman leads the Hoosiers with 19 multiple-hit games and is second on the team with 14 doubles and 43 runs scored. He also has four home runs and 28 RBI. The Spencer, Ind. (Owen Valley HS) product was selected the Co-Big Ten Player of the Week on May 6 for his performance in a four-game series with Penn State.

    Heckman, Spanos and the Hoosiers will open play in the Big Ten Conference Tournament on Wednesday afternoon in Minneapolis, Minn. No. 6 seed IU will face third-seeded Michigan at 3:35 p.m. at Minnesota's Siebert Field. The tournament is double-elimination and runs through Saturday, May 24.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties