No. 1 Seed Indiana Begins Big Ten Tournament Against Iowa

    Go Hoosiers! Tracy Smith
    Go Hoosiers!
    Tracy Smith
    Go Hoosiers!

    May 20, 2014

    2014 Big Ten Tournament
     When May 21-25, 2014
     Today's Game (1) Indiana vs. (8) Iowa
    6:00 p.m. ET/5:00 p.m. CT
    TV: Big Ten Network & BTN2Go
     Where Omaha, Neb. - TD Ameritrade Park Omaha
     Game Notes Indiana Postseason Guide
    Indiana Notes | Iowa Notes
     Tournament Central Bracket, Live Stats
     Tickets Buy Tickets
     Radio Wed.-Sat. or FM105.1 in Bloomington
     All-Big Ten Release 8 Hoosiers on First Team
     Twitter @IUBaseballNews (in-game updates)
    @HoosierBaseball (Tracy Smith)

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - The Indiana Hoosiers (38-13, 21-3 Big Ten) enter the Big Ten Tournament as the No. 1 seed for the second straight season. Indiana clinched the outright Big Ten regular season title on Friday with a win over Minnesota. The Hoosiers are ranked anywhere from No. 8 to No. 18 in the various national polls entering the postseason. Indiana is also in the top five of the NCAA RPI entering the tournament.

    Under head coach Tracy Smith, who is in his ninth season in Bloomington, the Hoosiers have won two Big Ten regular season titles (2013, 2014) and two Big Ten Tournament Titles (2009, 2013).

    The three Big Ten losses for IU are the fewest by a Big Ten regular season champion since Ohio State went 25-3 during the 1999 season.

    The IU pitching staff posted a team ERA of 1.53 in Big Ten play this season, the lowest by any Big Ten team since 1965 (Iowa - 1.17).

    Indiana went 11-1 on the road in Big Ten play this season, outscoring opponents by a 94-27 margin and hitting .343 as a team while holding opponents to a .217 average.

    Junior Sam Travis led the Big Ten in home runs (10), hits (74) and RBI (53) and junior Kyle Schwarber paced the conference in runs scored (56). Senior Dustin DeMuth had the top batting average (.385). Senior LHP Joey DeNato was tops among Big Ten pitchers in wins (11) and ERA (1.83) this season.

    Probable Starting Pitchers
    (1) Indiana vs. (8) Iowa • 6 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. CT
    Sr., LHP #23 Joey DeNato (11-1, 1.83 ERA) vs. Jr. LHP #24 Sasha Kuebel (6-4, 4.43 ERA)

    • Senior Dustin DeMuth leads all NCAA active hitters - regardless of division - with 306 career hits.

    • Senior LHP Joey DeNato leads all NCAA Division I active pitchers with 35 career victories and ranks second in career innings pitched (354.0).

    • Junior Sam Travis ranks 12th among all NCAA active hitters with 160 career RBI.

    • Travis also leads the Big Ten with 490 chances in the field this season and has yet to commit an error.

    • Junior Kyle Schwarber ranks 10th among active Division I players with 172 runs scored.

    • The Hoosiers' team ERA of 2.22 ranks fifth in the country this season

    • Over the last 19 games, the IU bullpen has pitched a total of 65.2 innings, giving up nine earned runs on 45 hits and 66 strikeouts.

    • In Big Ten play, Indiana has outscored its opponents by a 161-48 margin.

    (NCAA rankings above as of May 19)

    By virtue of the 7-3 win on Friday against Minnesota, the Hoosiers clinched the Big Ten regular season title outright for the second straight season. It is the sixth time the Hoosiers have won the regular season Big Ten title and just the fourth time they have won it outright (1925, 1932, 2013, 2014). They were co-champions is 1938 and 1949.

    Indiana's staff earned run average of 2.22 is the best in the Big Ten (ninth in NCAA), and the only team with a team ERA of less than 3.00. In Big Ten play (24 games), that team ERA drops all the way down to 1.53, also tops in the conference by a full run. IU has all three starting pitchers - DeNato, Morris, Korte - in the top 10 of the conference in ERA (Big Ten games).

    The 1.53 team ERA in conference play is the lowest by any Big Ten team since 1965.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties