Arnett Named National Pitcher of the Year Finalist

    Go Hoosiers! Eric Arnett was named a National Pitcher of the Year Finalist.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Eric Arnett was named a National Pitcher of the Year Finalist.
    Go Hoosiers!

    May 24, 2009

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Junior pitcher Eric Arnett has been named a National Pitcher of the Year Finalist, the College Baseball Foundation announced. Arnett is one of five finalists for the award, as he has posted a 12-1 record with a 2.58 ERA and 103 strikeouts so far this season. Earlier this week, he was named Big Ten Co-Pitcher of the Year.

    Arnett is joined on the list by San Diego State's Steven Strasburg, Arizona State's Mike Leake, Kansas State's A.J. Morris and Georgia Tech's Deck McGuire. The CBF, the Dick Howser Trophy Committee and the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association will announce the recipients of the 2009 college baseball awards as well as the Dick Howser Trophy finalists on June 13 in Omaha, Neb., at the start of the College World Series.

    The Pitcher of the Year Award officially will be presented on July 2 in Lubbock as part of the College Baseball Awards Show, which will recognize the top players in college baseball. In addition to the Pitcher of the Year Award, other awards presented during the show will include the Dick Howser Trophy for the national player of the year and the Brooks Wallace Award honoring the nation's top shortstop. The College Baseball Awards Show will be complimented by the National College Baseball Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony as a part of the July 1 through July 4 college baseball celebration.

    The Hoosiers won all four of their games in the Big Ten Tournament this week to claim the conference's postseason crown. It is the first tourney title for IU since 1996 and the second in school history. The Hoosiers also earned the conference's automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament.

    Indiana won all four of its games in decisive fashion, outscoring its opponents 47-9 during the tournament. The Hoosiers delivered at least 15 hits in every game and limited its opposition to just 26 hits throughout the tourney. Junior pitcher Matt Bashore was named the Tournament's Most Outstanding Player after throwing a seven-inning shutout performance against Minnesota in the second round of the tourney.



    Indiana will now play in its first NCAA Regional since 1996 next weekend at a campus site that is yet to be determined. The NCAA selection show is scheduled for Monday at 12:30 p.m. on ESPN. Stay tuned to for all the latest on Indiana's trip to the 2009 NCAA Tournament.


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties