Hoosier Trio Named All-Big Ten

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!
    PARK RIDGE, Ill. -- Three Indiana Hoosiers were selected the 2004 All-Big Ten Baseball Team, the league office announced Wednesday. Senior shortstop Seth Bynum (first team), senior left fielder Kevin Mahar (second team) and sophomore center fielder Reggie Watson (third team) were honored for their outstanding play this season.

    Bynum ranked in the top 10 among Big Ten players in nearly every offensive category this season on his way to earning first-team honors at shortstop. The Louisville, Ky., product paced the Hoosiers and led the conference with 65 RBI and 132 total bases. His 65 RBI rank tied for seventh in school history in a season. Bynum finished the season with a .387 overall batting average, second-best in the conference, and hit 10 home runs. Bynum also recorded 19 stolen bases, 22 multiple-hit games and 21 multiple-RBI games. A starter in all 109 games he played in over two seasons at Indiana, Bynum was recognized by Baseball America as a Midseason All-American in April.

    Mahar was awarded second-team honors as an outfielder. He led all Big Ten Conference hitters with 14 home runs and a .652 slugging percentage this season. The Midland, Mich., native batted .359 overall and .368 in Big Ten games, both of which rank eighth among league players. Mahar drove in 52 RBI, the third-most in the Big Ten, and stole eight bases in 10 attempts. He also racked up 20 multiple-hit games and 15 multiple-RBI games.

    Watson is one of three outfielders on the All-Big Ten third team in just his first season as a starter at Indiana. He produced a .307 batting average overall and in Big Ten Conference games and led all league players with 25 stolen bases. A native of Cincinnati, Ohio, Watson finished the season with 18 extra base hits, including 12 doubles, three triples and three home runs.

    The Hoosiers concluded the 2004 season last weekend, finishing with a 25-30 overall record.

    2004 All-Big Ten Baseball Teams


    1B - Andy Hunter, MINN
    2B - Chris Getz, MICH
    SS - Seth Bynum, IND
    3B - James Moreno, MSU#
    OF - Travis Gulick, MSU
    OF - Sam Steidl, MINN#
    OF - Steve Caravati, OSU#
    DH - Brandon Roberts, MICH
    C - Chris Robinson, ILL
    P - Nathan Johnson, IOWA
    P - Jim Brauer, MICH*
    P - Glen Perkins, MINN#
    P - J.A. Happ, NU
    P - Josh Newman, OSU*
    RP - Adam White, MSU

    1B - Kyle Bohm, MICH
    2B - Drew Anderson, OSU
    SS - Mitch Koester, PUR
    3B - Simon Klink, PUR
    OF - Kevin Mahar, IND
    OF - Nate Yoho, IOWA
    OF - Jacob Howell, OSU
    DH - Mike Mee, MINN
    C - Jake Elder, MINN
    P - Paul Hammond, MICH
    P - Bryan Gale, MSU
    P - Craig Molldrem, MINN
    P - Sean Stidfole, PSU
    RP - Trae Dauby, PUR

    1B - Mark Ori, NU
    2B - Luke MacLean, MINN
    SS - Matt Fornasiere, MINN
    3B - Chad Frk, ILL*
    3B - David Hrncirik, MINN*
    OF - Reggie Watson, IND
    OF - Matt Butler, MICH
    OF - Andy Dahl, PUR
    DH - John Hunter, PUR
    C - Dan Pohlman, NU
    P - Tim Gorski, ILL
    P - Dan Brauer, NU
    P - Mike Madsen, OSU
    P - Aaron Tressler, PSU
    RP - Trey Fausnaugh, OSU

    Player of the Year: Steve Caravati, OSU
    Pitcher of the Year: Glen Perkins, MINN
    Freshman of the Year: Jacob Howell, OSU
    Coach of the Year: John Anderson, MINN

    # Unanimous selection
    * Additional honorees due to ties




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties