Two Earn Big Ten Sportsmanship Awards

    Go Hoosiers! Vera Neuenswander
    Go Hoosiers!
    Vera Neuenswander
    Go Hoosiers!

    June 4, 2008

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Indiana junior Andrew Means and sophomore Vera Neuenswander were two of 22 student-athletes that were named Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners, which was announced by the league office on Wednesday, June 4.

    Means, a junior centerfielder for the IU baseball team and a redshirt sophomore for the football team, and Neuenswander, a standout athlete for the Hoosiers' women's track squad, were chosen out of 275 student-athletes that were honored throughout the academic year who had displayed positive sportsmanship.

    Means continued his rise on the diamond by earning First Team All-Big Ten honors for the Hoosiers. The Avon Lake, Ohio, native led the Big Ten with 72 runs scored and finished third in the conference with 33 stolen bases. He also hit .357 with two home runs while showing tremendous range in center for the Hoosiers. During the football season, he finished second on the team with 559 receiving yards on 48 catches in helping IU to its first bowl appearance in 14 years.

    Neuenswander recorded her best clearance of 4.10 meters in the pole vault at the Indiana Invitational on April 19 in Bloomington. That mark earned her a trip to the 2008 NCAA Mideast Region Championships in Fayetteville, Ark., where she finished eighth with a vault of 4.06 meters to earn United State Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association All-Region honors. Prior to her appearance at the regional, the Jefferson City, Mo., native tied for third in the vault at the Big Ten Championships with a height of 3.95 meters.

    One member of each varsity sports team on every Big Ten campus was chosen by the institution as a Sportsmanship Award honoree, and from each university's list, two Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners were then selected. All of the Sportsmanship Award honorees have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, these student-athletes must be in good academic standing and must have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports competition setting.



    IU's other 2007-08 Sportsmanship honorees were Adam Ahlfeld (men's basketball), Jorge Campillo (men's golf), Kyndal Carr (women's outdoor track and field), Abby Cooper (women's swimming and diving), Angel Escobedo (wrestling), Brittany Estrada (water polo), Paul Fearnow (men's indoor track and field), Cole Hardacre (men's cross country), Elaine Harris (women's golf), Kyle Jenkins (men's outdoor track and field), Emily Kasavana (rowing), Christie Kotynski (women's soccer), David Legler (men's swimming and diving), Dara McLoughlin (men's tennis), Anna Olson (softball), Sarah Pease (women's cross country), Juli Pierce (volleyball), Josiah Sears (football), Margie Stoll (field hockey), Whitney Thomas (women's basketball), Charlie Traylor (men's soccer) and Brianna Williams (women's tennis).


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties