Schwarber, Travis Tabbed Freshman All-Americans

    Go Hoosiers! Sam Travis (left) and Kyle Schwarber (right)
    Go Hoosiers!
    Sam Travis (left) and Kyle Schwarber (right)
    Go Hoosiers!

    June 6, 2012

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Kyle Schwarber and Sam Travis were both named to the 2012 Louisville Slugger Freshmen All-American team on Wednesday (June 6), selected by Collegiate Baseball newspaper.

    It marks the fifth consecutive season Indiana Baseball has had a freshman earn the national accolade; and second straight with multiple Freshman All-Americans in the same year.

    Schwarber worked behind the dish and batted out of the No. 2 hole for nearly the entire season, starting all 60 contests. He led the Hoosiers with 51 runs scored, five triples, a .513 slugging percentage, 30 walks and tied Travis with a team-high 118 total bases.

    Travis, meanwhile, paced IU in hits (74), doubles (17), homeruns (9) and runs batted in (50). Indiana's 'Bash Brothers' were amongst the best bats in the entire Big Ten Conference, ranking in the top-10 for nearly every offensive statistic:

    BIG TEN CONFERENCE RANKINGS (total/ranking in conference games only)
    • Five triples, 2nd
    • 51 runs scored, t-4th (26/1st)
    • 47 RBI, t-5th (23/t-2nd)
    • 118 total bases, t-5th (58/3rd)
    • 15 doubles, t-6th (9/2nd)
    • Eight homeruns, t-7th
    • .513 slugging percentage, 9th
    • (.376 batting average/6th)

    • 50 RBI, 2nd (27/1st)
    • 17 doubles, 4th
    • Nine homeruns, t-5th (6/t-3rd)
    • 118 total bases, t-5th (56/t-6th)
    • 74 hits, t-9th
    • .509 slugging percentage, 10th

    Schwarber and Travis were each unanimous selections to the Big Ten's All-Freshman squad as well. Travis took the top first-year honor, recognized as the conference's Freshman of the Year.

    The Hoosier duo's success caught the attention of the Big Ten Network earlier this season. Click here to view BTN's feature on 'IU's Bash Brothers.'



    1984 - Brian Tant, OF
    1988 - Dan Haegele, 2B
    2008 - Jerrud Sabourin, 1B
    2009 - Alex Dickerson, DH
    2010 - Micah Johnson, 3B
    2011 - Dustin DeMuth, 3B and Joey DeNato, SP
    2012 - Kyle Schwarber, C and Sam Travis, 1B


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties