Men's Basketball

    Indiana Men's Basketball Among NCAA's 75 Years of March Madness

    Go Hoosiers! Keith Smart's shot against Syracuse secured the 1987 National Championship for the Hoosiers.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Keith Smart's shot against Syracuse secured the 1987 National Championship for the Hoosiers.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Jan. 9, 2013

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - From a season of perfection to 'the shot', the history of the NCAA Tournament cannot be told without a chapter devoted to Indiana Men's Basketball., managed by Turner Sports, on Wednesday, Jan. 9, launched the opening of fan voting to determine the NCAA All-Time March Madness players, team and moment as part of the 75 years of the NCAA Division I Men's Basketball Championship. Fans can help make history by casting their votes on for the top team, moment and players during the voting period, which runs through March 24. The honorees will be announced Final Four Friday, April 5, in Atlanta in conjunction with the 2013 Men's Final Four.

    "This is a unique opportunity for NCAA basketball fans to cast their votes to help decide who gets honored as the best of the best from March Madness history," said Mark Johnson, vice president, business operations, Turner Sports. "We are excited to have at the center of the 75 Years of March Madness celebration and look forward to reliving the most memorable moments from arguably the best sporting event in the world."

    In addition to fan voting, - the official online destination for the 75 Years of March Madness celebration - will provide extensive historical content, statistical info, expert commentary, classic photo galleries and signature moments that capture the storied history of the NCAA tournament. On the NCAA's March Madness Facebook and Twitter pages, fans can stay updated on the voting status with the hashtag #MM75 and engage in daily trivia. After casting their votes, fans have a chance to enter a sweepstakes to win a 2014 NCAA Final Four package to attend the 2014 Men's Final Four in North Texas (Arlington).

    Indiana Honorees:
    Scott May, F, 1975-76
    Kent Benson, C, 1975-76 - 1976 Most Outstanding Player
    Isiah Thomas, G, 1980-81 - 1981 Most Outstanding Player
    Steve Alford, G, 1984-87
    Keith Smart, G, 1987-88 - 1987 Most Outstanding Player



    1975-76 Indiana - 32-0

    1976 - Indiana wins title - perfectly.
    Since Bob Knight's Hoosiers won the title 36 years ago, only two teams have even entered the NCAA tournament unbeaten, let alone won the whole thing.

    1987 - Indiana's Smart shocks Syracuse.
    In the same year the movie Hoosiers came out, Indiana Hoosier Keith Smart scored 12 of his team's final 15 points, including a 16-footer in the final seconds, as Indiana shocked Syracuse in the national final.


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties