Men's Basketball

    Gordon, White Named to Naismith Mid-Season List

    Go Hoosiers! D.J. White and Eric Gordon were both named to the 2008 Naismith Trophy mid-season list.
    Go Hoosiers!
    D.J. White and Eric Gordon were both named to the 2008 Naismith Trophy mid-season list.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Jan. 29, 2008

    ATLANTA - Indiana men's basketball standouts Eric Gordon and D.J. White are among 30 candidates for the 2008 Naismith Trophy which is presented by the Atlanta Tipoff Club. Composed of the top 30 players who will compete for this season's player of the year award, the midseason list is based on individual player performance during the first half of the season.

    North Carolina's Tyler Hansbrough, the lone returnee from last year's four finalists, is joined by six rookies - Gordon, Michael Beasley (Kansas State), James Harden (Arizona State), Kevin Love (UCLA), O.J. Mayo (USC) and Derrick Rose (Memphis). Love was named the 2007 Naismith National High School Player of the Year.

    The Top 30 men's list was voted on by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, comprised of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country. The board based its criteria on player performances this season, and the list was narrowed down from the pre-season list of 50 candidates who were announced at the beginning of the season. The Naismith Trophy is the most prestigious national award presented annually to the men's and women's college basketball players of the year.

    "With the influx of talent of the freshmen class it's not surprising to see so many young players vying for the player of the year award," said Gary Stokan, Atlanta Tipoff Club president. "Overall, this is an extremely balanced group and it will most assuredly go down to the wire in determining a winner for the most prestigious trophy in college basketball."

    Indiana is one of just four schools with multiple players among the 30 finalists. North Carolina is the only school to feature three players on the list, while Texas and UCLA each have two players.

    Again this year AT&T will give fans an unprecedented voice in selecting the winner. Fan voting, through the power and ease of text messaging, will account for 25 percent of the selection process. This program sets the standard in college athletics for integrating fans into the voting process and providing them with more input than with any other major collegiate sports award.



    Beginning Feb. 9, CBS Sports' "AT&T AT THE HALF" will feature a weekly Naismith Trophy Watch highlighting the men's players in contention for the coveted award who have distinguished themselves throughout the season. On March 23, CBS will announce the four Naismith Trophy finalists.

    Fans will be eligible to cast their vote for the winner until April 5. AT&T is making the voting open to other wireless carriers allowing even more fans to participate. Other wireless carriers must opt-in for their subscribers to participate. The Men's Naismith Trophy winner will be announced April 6 at the 2008 NCAA Final Four in San Antonio.

    For more information, visit

    The mid-season candidates for the Naismith Men's Trophy presented by AT&T, listed in alphabetical order, are as follows:

    A.J. Abrams, So., F, Texas
    Darrell Arthur, So., F, Kansas
    D.J. Augustin, So., G, Texas
    Michael Beasley, Fr., F, Kansas State
    Jon Brockman, Jr. , F, Washington
    Chase Budinger, So., F, Arizona
    Stephen Curry, So., G, Davidson
    Chris Douglas-Roberts, Jr., G, Memphis
    Wayne Ellington, So., G, North Carolina
    Shan Foster, Sr., G/F, Vanderbilt
    Eric Gordon, Fr., G, Indiana
    Mike Green, Sr., G, Butler
    James Harden, Fr., G, Arizona State
    Tyler Hansbrough, Jr., F, North Carolina
    Luke Harangody, So., F, Notre Dame
    Roy Hibbert, Sr., C, Georgetown
    Ty Lawson, So., G, North Carolina
    Kevin Love, Fr., F, UCLA
    O.J. Mayo, Fr., F, USC
    Drew Neitzel, Sr., G, Michigan State
    DeMarcus Nelson, Sr., G, Duke
    Scottie Reynolds, So., G, Villanova
    Tyrese Rice, Jr., G, Boston College
    Brian Roberts, Sr., G, Dayton
    Derrick Rose, Fr., G, Memphis
    Josh Shipp, Jr., G/F, UCLA
    Sean Singletary, Sr., G, Virginia
    Kyle Weaver, Sr., G, Washington State
    D.J. White, Sr., F, Indiana
    Sam Young, Jr., F, Pittsburgh

    The Atlanta Tipoff Club, an Atlanta Sports Council property, is committed to promoting the game of basketball and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of those who make the game so exciting. The Atlanta Tipoff Club has presented the Naismith Trophy since UCLA's Lew Alcindor first won the award in 1969.

    The Naismith Awards program has become an emblem of excellence for the game, recognizing the Men's and Women's College Player of the Year, Men's and Women's Coach of the Year, as well as awards for outstanding achievement in high school basketball, officiating, and overall contribution to the game.

    AT&T Inc. (NYSE:T) is a premier communications holding company. Its subsidiaries and affiliates, AT&T operating companies, are the providers of AT&T services in the United States and around the world. Among their offerings are the world's most advanced IP-based business communications services and the nation's leading wireless, high speed Internet access and voice services. In domestic markets, AT&T is known for the directory publishing and advertising sales leadership of its Yellow Pages and YELLOWPAGES.COM organizations, and the AT&T brand is licensed to innovators in such fields as communications equipment. As part of its three-screen integration strategy, AT&T is expanding its TV entertainment offerings. Additional information about AT&T Inc. and the products and services provided by AT&T subsidiaries and affiliates is available at


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties