Men's Basketball

    Zeller Named Indiana's 25th McDonald's All-American

    Go Hoosiers! IU signee Cody Zeller (photo courtesy of
    Go Hoosiers!
    IU signee Cody Zeller (photo courtesy of
    Go Hoosiers!

    Feb. 10, 2011

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Indiana men's basketball signee Cody Zeller became the 25th Hoosier to be named a McDonald's All-American, the committee announced on ESPNU on Thursday, Feb. 10, 2011. He is the first Indiana signee since Eric Gordon (2007) to earn the honor and the 14th IU Hoosier to hail from the state of Indiana.

    Zeller, a 6-11, 220 pound power forward from Washington (Ind.) High School, is Tom Crean's first McDonald's All-American as a head coach. He is averaging 25.0 points, 13.7 rebounds 3.2 assists, 1.4 blocks and 1.3 steals per game. He will play on the West Team.

    In 2010, he led Washington to a Class 3A state championship, averaging 20.5 points and 11.4 rebounds per game. Following the season, he was named an Indiana Junior All-Star. During his sophomore campaign, he averaged 15.0 points and 6.8 rebounds. As a freshmen, he averaged 2.4 points and 1.4 boards on another Class 3A state title team. He has been coached by Gene Miiller at Washington and also played AAU basketball for the Indiana Elite program and Mark Adams.

    Zeller also led the USA 2011 squad to the adidas Nations Championship in Chicago this past summer and was invited to the NBA Top 100 camp.

    The 2011 McDonald's All-America game will be held at the United Center in Chicago on Wednesday, March 30 at 10 p.m. ET and will be aired on ESPN. Isiah Thomas' high school coach Gene Pingatore (St. Joseph High School) and former Hoosier and 1983 McDonald's All-American Daryl Thomas will coach Zeller on the West Team.

    IU's All-Time List of McDonald's All-Americans
    Tom Baker - 1977
    Ray Tolbert - 1977
    Landon Turner - 1978
    Isiah Thomas - 1979
    John Flowers - 1981
    Daryl Thomas - 1983
    Delray Brooks - 1984
    Ricky Calloway - 1985
    Jay Edwards - 1987
    Eric Anderson - 1988
    Greg Graham - 1989
    Pat Graham - 1989
    Damon Bailey - 1990
    Alan Henderson - 1991
    Sherron Wilkerson - 1993
    Andrae Patterson - 1994
    Neil Reed - 1994
    Jason Collier - 1996
    Luke Recker - 1997
    Dane Fife - 1998
    Jared Jeffries - 2000
    Bracey Wright - 2002
    D.J. White - 2004
    Eric Gordon - 2007
    Cody Zeller - 2011




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties