Men's Basketball

    Zeller One of Five Finalists for the 2012 Wayman Tisdale Award

    Go Hoosiers! Cody Zeller
    Go Hoosiers!
    Cody Zeller
    Go Hoosiers!

    Feb. 15, 2012

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Indiana forward Cody Zeller has been named one of five finalists for the 2012 Wayman Tisdale Award, announced by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association on Wednesday, Feb. 15. The award is presented to the National Freshman of the Year at a gala banquet on Monday, April 16 at the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum in Oklahoma City. The announcement of the winner will come at the USBWA College Basketball Awards Breakfast on Friday, March 30 in New Orleans in conjunction with the NCAA Men's Final Four.

    Zeller joins Anthony Davis and Michael Kidd-Gilchrist of Kentucky, Austin Rivers of Duke and Tony Wroten of Washington among the group of finalists.

    A native of Washington, Ind., Zeller leads the Hoosiers averaging 15.4 points and 6.4 rebounds per game. He leads the Big Ten and is fourth in the nation in field goal percentage, making 64.8 percent of his field goal attempts. He is on pace to break the school's single-season shooting mark of 62.8 set by Matt Nover in 1992-93.

    Zeller has been named Big Ten Freshman of the Week six times. He was also named a Second Team Midseason All-American by, the Sporting News and, was one of four Big Ten players named to the Midseason Top 25 list for the Wooden Award, and one of three freshmen being considered for the Oscar Robertson Award.

    The USBWA has chosen a national freshman of the year since the 1988-89 season when LSU's Chris Jackson was the recipient. Last season, Ohio State's Jared Sullinger became the winner of the first Wayman Tisdale Award. Other previous winners of the award include Kevin Durant, Carmelo Anthony, Jason Kidd and Chris Webber.

    The Tisdale Award winner will receive a statuette designed by nationally-recognized sculptor Shan Gray. The April 16 banquet will also honor Duke coach Mike Krzyzewski as the recipient of the Wayman Tisdale Humanitarian Award.

    The late Wayman Tisdale was a three-time USBWA All-American at the University of Oklahoma. Following a stint on the 1984 U.S. Olympic basketball team, he played 12 seasons in the NBA before retiring in 1997 to focus on a blossoming jazz music career. In March 2007, he was diagnosed with cancer and, following a courageous and difficult battle that included the amputation of his right leg in 2008, he passed away in May 2009.



    The Wayman Tisdale Freshman of the Year Award presented by Devon is produced by Access Sports, an Oklahoma City-based 501(c)(3) non-profit organization committed to supporting various charitable causes, including funding prosthetic devices for needy individuals through the Wayman L. Tisdale Foundation, educational scholarships through the U.S. Basketball Writers Association, and funding of youth basketball programs throughout the state of Oklahoma through Wayman's Lightning Basketball League.

    Tickets and sponsorship information for the April 16 event are available at the Tisdale Award website,, or by contacting Scott Hill (405-749-1515, For more information on the USBWA Awards Breakfast in New Orleans, including purchasing tickets, visit


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties