Men's Basketball

    Wright Nominated for Rupp Player of the Year Award

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!

    Feb. 18, 2004

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind.--Indiana sophomore guard Bracey Wright is a finalist for the Adolph F. Rupp Award, presented by the Commonwealth Athletic Club of Kentucky presented to the nation's top player.

    The Colony, Texas, product is currently the Big Ten's second leading scorer at 20.1 ppg and ranks eighth in free throw percentage at .793. Wright is also 72 points shy of becoming the 39th member of Indiana's 1,000-career point club and should become the 10th player in school history to achieve this feat in 60 games or less.

    In addition, Wright has scored at least 20 points 11 times this season and has hit the 25-point plateau on seven separate occasions. A two-time Big Ten Player of the Week award this season and five times in his career, Wright also has also racked up two 14-game double figure scoring streaks in his career.

    A 30-member panel of present and retired sports writers, coaches, TV-radio broadcasters and administrators will select the Rupp All-American team and the five finalists for the Rupp Coach of the Year Award in early March. The Rupp Player of the Year and Coach of the Year will be announced at the Final Four on Thursday, April 1, in San Antonio.

    The other 13 finalists, are Josh Childress, Stanford; Ike Diogu, Arizona State; Andre Emmett, Texas Tech; Matt Frieje, Vanderbilt; Francisco Garcia, Louisville; Ryan Gomes, Providence; Devin Harris, Wisconsin; Julius Hodge, North Carolina State; Jameer Nelson, St. Joseph's; Emeka Okafor, Connecticut; Lawrence Roberts, Mississippi State; Blake Stepp, Gonzaga and Hakim Warrick, Syracuse.

    Former Hoosiers' Scott May (1973-1976) and Calbert Cheaney (1989-1993) were also recipients of the Rupp Award.



      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties