Men's Basketball

    Oladipo, Zeller Headline Naismith Award Top-30

    Go Hoosiers! Victor Oladipo
    Go Hoosiers!
    Victor Oladipo
    Go Hoosiers!

    Feb. 26, 2013

    ATLANTA - Indiana junior Victor Oladipo and sophomore Cody Zeller headline the list of top 30 candidates for the 2013 Naismith Men's College Player of the Year award, presented by AT&T, the Atlanta Tip-Off Club announced on Tuesday, Feb. 26. A win for one of the two Hoosiers, who have been highly ranked all season, would be the first in 20 years for Indiana, since Calbert Cheaney last took home the honor in 1993. Prior to Cheaney, Scott May won the award in 1976.

    Kansas (Ben McLemore, Jeff Withey) and Duke (Seth Curry, Mason Plumlee) join Indiana with two candidates each on the top 30 list. Creighton Junior Doug McDermott, a 2012 Naismith Trophy finalist, is once again among the elite players in the race to be named the best player in men's college basketball.

    The top 30 candidates were selected by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, which based its criteria on player performances to this point in the 2013 men's college basketball season. In late March, the Naismith Trophy voting academy will narrow down the list to four finalists. The Naismith Men's College Player of the Year presented by AT&T will be awarded on April 7, 2013 in Atlanta.

    For the ninth consecutive year, fans will have the opportunity to text their votes for the player of their choice and help determine the 2013 Naismith Trophy winner. Voting will open to fans on Monday, March 25. Naismith Trophy presenting sponsor AT&T is making the voting open to other wireless carriers, enabling even more fans to participate.

    "This season has re-defined excellence on the court, as numerous talented players have put themselves in a position to win the prestigious Naismith Trophy," said Shane Battier, spokesperson for the Naismith Awards and the only men's player to win both a high school (1997) and college (2001) Naismith Trophy. "I am excited to see which of these great players emerges down the stretch to win this award and become the newest member of the Naismith Awards family."



    "For nearly a decade, AT&T has helped honor college basketball's elite and their amazing performances on the court," said Jamie Kerr, Director, AT&T Corporate Sponsorships. "AT&T enables fans to play a central role in the selection process while bringing them closer to their passion for college basketball. With such a competitive pool of student-athletes, next month's voting is sure to be close."

    Other notable Naismith Trophy alumni include a pair of three-time winners in Bill Walton (1972, 73, 74) and Ralph Sampson (181, 82, 83), Michael Jordan (1984), Kevin Durant (2007) and last year's winner, Anthony Davis of Kentucky. The Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T is the most prestigious national award presented annually to college basketball's best player.

    For more information, visit

    Top 30 Candidates for 2013 Naismith Men's Player of the Year Award
    Anthony Bennett, UNLV
    Jared Berggren, Wisconsin
    Trey Burke, Michigan
    Isaiah Canaan, Murray State
    Michael Carter-Williams, Syracuse
    Ian Clark, Belmont
    Rotnei Clarke, Butler
    Jack Cooley, Notre Dame
    Allen Crabbe, California
    Seth Curry, Duke
    Matthew Dellavedova, Saint Mary's
    Jamaal Franklin, San Diego State
    Sean Kilpatrick, Cincinnati
    Shane Larkin, Miami
    Doug McDermott, Creighton
    Rodney McGruder, Kansas State
    Ben McLemore, Kansas
    Shabazz Muhammad, UCLA
    Mike Muscala, Bucknell
    Victor Oladipo, Indiana
    Kelly Olynyk, Gonzaga
    Brandon Paul, Illinois
    Mason Plumlee, Duke
    Otto Porter, Jr., Georgetown
    Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State
    Russ Smith, Louisville
    DeShaun Thomas, Ohio State
    Jeff Withey, Kansas
    Nate Wolters, South Dakota State
    Cody Zeller, Indiana


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties