Men's Basketball

    D.J. White and Eric Gordon Named All-Americans By Sports Illustrated

    Go Hoosiers! Eric Gordon
    Go Hoosiers!
    Eric Gordon
    Go Hoosiers!

    March 7, 2008

    Bloomington, Indiana - Indiana University men's basketball standouts D.J. White and Eric Gordon were named second team All-Americans by Sports Illustrated. They are the first IU teammates (Ted Kitchel and Randy Wittman) since 1983 to earn the accolade in the same season and Gordon is the first Hoosier freshman ever to be regarded as one of the top 10 players in the country.

    White has recorded 18 double-doubles in his last 26 outings. He is currently second in the league in scoring (17.0), first in the league in rebounds (10.4) and field goal percentage (60.6), and fourth in the league in blocked shots (1.63). He moved into 20th place on the school's all-time scoring list with 1,382 points and into 14th all-time at IU with 714 rebounds. He is averaging 17.6 points and 10.6 rebounds in Big Ten action.

    Gordon leads the league in scoring (21.3), is third in the league in free throw percentage (85.3) and fifth in three-point field goals made (2.28). He has made (215) and attempted (252) more free throws than any other player in the league. He has set an IU freshman record with 619 points scored.

    Both players were named first team All-District by the National Association of Basketball Coaches and White is one of 10 nominees for the Oscar Robertson Trophy presented to the National Player of the Year by the United States Basketball Writers Association.


    1921	Everett Dean
    1929	Jim Strickland
    1930	Branch McCracken
    1936	Vern Huffman
    1937	Ken Gunning
    1938	Ernie Andres
    1940	Marv Huffman, Bill Menke
    1942	Andy Zimmer
    1946	John Wallace
    1947	Ralph Hamilton
    1950	Lou Watson
    1951	Bill Garrett
    1953	Don Schlundt, Bob Leonard
    1954	Don Schlundt, Bob Leonard
    1955	Don Schlundt
    1957	Archie Dees
    1958	Archie Dees
    1960	Walt Bellamy
    1961	Walt Bellamy
    1962	Jimmy Rayl
    1963	Jimmy Rayl
    1965	Dick Van Arsdale, Tom Van Arsdale
    1971	George McGinnis
    1973	Steve Downing
    1974	Steve Green
    1975	Steve Green, Quinn Buckner, Scott May, Kent Benson
    1976	Scott May, Kent Benson, Quinn Buckner
    1977	Kent Benson
    1979	Mike Woodson
    1980	Mike Woodson
    1981	Isiah Thomas
    1982	Ted Kitchel, Landon Turner
    1983	Randy Wittman, Ted Kitchel
    1986	Steve Alford
    1987	Steve Alford
    1989	Jay Edwards
    1991	Calbert Cheaney
    1992	Calbert Cheaney
    1993	Calbert Cheaney
    1994	Damon Bailey
    1995	Alan Henderson
    1996	Brian Evans
    2000	A.J. Guyton
    2001	Kirk Haston
    2002	Jared Jeffries
    2008    D.J. White, Eric Gordon




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties