Men's Basketball

    Hoosiers Enter Big Ten Tournament As The Third Seed

    Go Hoosiers! Kyle Taber
    Go Hoosiers!
    Kyle Taber
    Go Hoosiers!

    March 12, 2008

    Complete Tournament Notes in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

    No. 3 Indiana (25-6, 14-4 Big Ten) vs. No. 6 Minnesota (18-12, 8-10 Big Ten) or No. 11 Northwestern (8-21, 1-17 Big Ten)
    9 p.m.
    March 14, 2008 • Conseco Fieldhouse (18,345)
    Indianapolis, Indiana
    IU Radio Network (Don Fischer, Todd Leary and Joe Smith)
    Big Ten Network (Wayne Larrivee and Shon Morris)

    Semifinals, March 15, 4:05 p.m.
    CBS (Jim Nantz and Billy Packer)

    Championship, March 16, 3:40 p.m.
    CBS (Jim Nantz and Billy Packer)

    Against Minnesota and Northwestern

    The Hoosiers are a combined 4-0 against Minnesota and Northwestern. Indiana won in Minneapolis, 65-60 and in Bloomington, 69-55 against the Gophers. The Hoosiers defeated Northwestern, 85-82 in Evanston and 75-63 in Bloomington.

    The Opening Tip

    The Indiana men's basketball team heads into the Big Ten Tournament as the No. 3 seed and will take on the winner of the No. 6 Minnesota/No. 11 Northwestern game in the final quarterfinal matchup on Friday, March 14. IU is 0-2 as the No. 3 seed, including a 58-54 overtime loss to Illinois last season. The Hoosiers are 0-1 against Minnesota in the Big Ten Tournament and have not faced Northwestern. Indiana went 2-0 vs. both teams in the regular season and holds an 88-63 advantage in the all-time series against the Golden Gophers and a 107-43 edge vs. the Wildcats.

    The Hoosiers boast two All-Americans and the top two scorers in the conference in freshman Eric Gordon (21.5) and senior D.J. White (17.1). White also leads the league in rebounds, averaging 10.3 per game. White was a unanimous Big Ten Player of the Year and first team All-Big Ten selection by the coaches and earned Big Ten Player of the Year and unanimous first team All-Big Ten from the media. Gordon was voted by the coaches as a first team All-Big Ten honoree, Big Ten Freshman of the Year and an honoree on the All-Big Ten freshman team, and he was a unanimous first team All-Big Ten selection and Big Ten Freshman of the Year as selected by the media. Sophomore Armon Bassett earned third team honors from the media and coaches, while junior Jamarcus Ellis secured honorable mention recognition from the media. Gordon and White were named first team All-District by the NABC and second team All-America by Sports Illustrated and were among the top 30 midseason candidates for the Wooden and Naismith Awards. White has been named the league's Player of the Week four times, the second most in Big Ten history.

    Coach Dan Dakich

    Former Indiana player and assistant coach Dan Dakich was named interim head coach on February 22. He is 3-2 with Indiana and 159-142 overall as a head coach. He steps in for Kelvin Sampson who resigned after guiding Indiana to a 43-15 record in less than two years and notched a 498-272 mark in 25 years as a head coach. Dakich returned to IU this year after serving as the head coach for 10 seasons at Bowling Green. He was the third winningest coach in Falcon history with a 156-140 mark. Dakich helped the Indiana program win 73.7 percent (305-105) of its games over the 12+ years he served as an assistant coach, while the Hoosiers were winning over 70 percent of their Big Ten contests. He was a graduate assistant from 1985-87 before being named full-time prior to the 1987-88 campaign. He left after the 1996-97 season to go to BG.

    At Conseco

    Indiana is 13-4 all-time at Conseco Fieldhouse and 3-3 at the arena in the Big Ten Tournament. Overall, the Hoosiers hold a 70-12 record in the Circle City, good for an 85.4 winning percentage.


    D.J. White was selected as the Big Ten's Most Valuable Player by the conference coaches and media. It marks the third time since the 2000 season that a Hoosier has been selected as the top player in the conference. Since the new millenium, A.J. Guyton shared the honor in 2000 and Jared Jeffries captured the award in 2002. Illinois has had three honorees this decade with Dee Brown (2005), Brian Cook (2003), and Frank Williams (2001), while Wisconsin saw Alando Tucker (2007) and Devin Harris (2004) recognized. Morris Peterson from Michigan State (2000) and Terence Dials from Ohio State (2006) also received the honor.

    More Notes

    • The Hoosiers finished the regular season with a 25-6 record and a 14-4 mark in the Big Ten. Their 25 regular-season wins are the most since the 1992-93 campaign (28-3) and tied for the ninth-highest total is school history, and their 14-4 league mark is the best since the same year (17-1).

    • Indiana ended the regular season 7-3 on the road, including a 6-3 ledger in conference play, and 8-4 overall away from Bloomington this season.

    • IU attempted a season-high 33 treys at Penn State. The 33 3-pointers are tied for the sixth-highest total in school history. Indiana hit 39 against Temple in 2004.

    • Freshman Eric Gordon fired a career-high 16 treys, which is tied for the second most in IU lore, and sophomore Armon Bassett shot a career-high 12, which shares the ninth most in the Indiana record book. Roderick Wilmont hit 17 at Penn State on Jan. 13, 2007.

    • The Hoosiers set a new school record with their 16th home victory of the season following their win over Ohio State. The previous record was 15 wins, set on three occasions in 1986-87, 1992-93 and 2006-07. Indiana finished the season with a 17-2 mark on the Branch McCracken Court.

    Dan Dakich served for 410 games as an assistant coach at Indiana before being named interim head coach on February 22. Indiana was 305-105 in those games.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties