Men's Basketball

    Oladipo Named NABC Co-Defensive Player of the Year

    Go Hoosiers! Victor Oladipo
    Go Hoosiers!
    Victor Oladipo
    Go Hoosiers!

    April 7, 2013

    ATLANTA - Indiana junior guard Victor Oladipo has been named the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) Co-Defensive Player of the Year, announced on Sunday, April 7, at the 2013 AT&T/NABC Guardians of the Game Awards Show in Atlanta. He shares the honor with Jeff Withey from Kansas.

    Oladipo, the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year, was named the Sporting News National Player of the Year, while also earning First Team All-America honors from Sporting News, the NABC and the Associated Press. The Upper Marlboro, Md., native was also selected to the Wooden All-America team.

    At the conclusion of the regular season, Oladipo was named a First Team All-Big Ten honoree. A finalist for the Wooden Award and the Oscar Robertson Trophy, he started all 36 games this season and averaged 13.6 points and 6.3 rebounds per game. Oladipo led the Big Ten in steals (2.2 spg) and ranked among the top two in field goal percentage (59.9) in the conference. He also earned his first career Academic All-Big Ten accolade in March.

    NABC Defensive Player of the Year
    1987 - Tommy Amaker, Duke
    1988 - Billy King, Duke
    1989 - Stacey Augmon, UNLV
    1990 - Stacey Augmon, UNLV
    1991 - Stacey Augmon, UNLV
    1992 - Alonzo Mourning, Georgetown
    1993 - Grant Hill, Duke
    1994 - Jim McIlvaine, Marquette
    1995 - Tim Duncan, Wake Forest
    1996 - Tim Duncan, Wake Forest
    1997 - Tim Duncan, Wake Forest
    1998 - Steve Wojciechowski, Duke
    1999 - Shane Battier, Duke
    2000 - Kenyon Martin, Cincinnati
    Shane Battier, Duke
    2001 - Shane Battier, Duke
    2002 - John Linehan, Providence
    2003 - Emeka Okafor, Connecticut
    2004 - Emeka Okafor, Connecticut
    2005 - Shelden Williams, Duke
    2006 - Shelden Williams, Duke
    2007 - Greg Oden, Ohio State
    2008 - Hasheem Thabeet, Connecticut
    2009 - Hasheem Thabeet, Connecticut
    2010 - Jarvis Varnado, Mississippi State
    2011 - Kenneth Faried, Morehead State
    2012 - Anthony Davis, Kentucky
    2013 - Victor Oladipo, Indiana
    Jeff Withey, Kansas




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties