Men's Basketball

    Hall of Fame Week: Doninger and Pioneers Barnhart, Bastian

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!

    Sept. 25, 2011

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Heading into the 2011 Indiana Athletics Hall of Fame induction of the 2011 Class, will feature each inductee, along with two inductees into the Pioneer Class. Today, we feature Clarence Doninger (Men's Basketball 1957; Athletic Director 1991-01), Dean Barnhart (Men's Basketball, 1909-11) and Fred "Fritz" Bastian (Men's Tennis, 1919-21).

    This is a current news photo
    Clarence Doninger

    Clarence Doninger - Basketball 1957; Athletic Director 1991-01:

    Doninger served as athletic director from 1991-2001. During his tenure, IU athletic teams won 27 Big Ten regular season or tournament championships and participated in 52 NCAA team championships, and won two NCAA team titles. IU added four women's varsity sports during his tenure as one of the leading institutions in gender equity compliance. Doninger won a basketball letter in 1957 and was a member of a Big Ten championship team. He won the Clevenger Award in 1990. Doninger also served on IU's Athletics Committee, and is a former member of the IU Foundation Board and served as Alumni Association President.

    This is a current news photo
    Dean Barnhart

    Dean Barnhart - Men's Basketball, 1909-11:

    Barnhart won basketball letters in 1909, 1910 and 1911, and was captain in 1910. He was the top player on the team that won IU's first varsity "I" in basketball in 1909. He scored 25 points against DePauw in 1911, a total so astonishing for the time that it stood as IU's record for 27 years. Six times in his career, Dean scored more points in a game than IU's opponent.

    This is a current news photo
    Fred "Fritz" Bastian

    Fred "Fritz" Bastian - Men's Tennis, 1919-21:

    Bastian won tennis letters in 1919, 1920 and 1921. He was the winner of Indiana's first Big Ten singles title in 1921 and beat his brother Dick for the state collegiate title. Bastian was also National Champion, beating out a 68-man field to win the National Intercollegiate Championships.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties