Men's Basketball

    Ferrell Named To Bob Cousy Award Watch List

    Go Hoosiers! Kevin
    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Oct. 22, 2013

    Springfield, Mass. - The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today the watch list of candidates for the 2014 Bob Cousy Collegiate Point Guard of the Year Award. The annual honor, named for Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic Bob Cousy, recognizes the top point guards in men's college basketball. This list was created by a committee of well-respected media members and influential people within college basketball from around the country.

    Indiana University sophomore Kevin "Yogi" Ferrell is one of 45 players named to the Bob Cousy Award Watch List which was announced by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. Ferrell, who earned All-Big Ten honors as a freshman, averaged 7.6 points and 4.1 assists in his first season with the Hoosiers.

    "The Hall of Fame is proud to work with Mr. Cousy and honor the best point guards playing in college basketball right now," said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. "This list represents some of the top student athletes from across the country. We are truly honored to be apart of this award."

    "The Bob Cousy Award promotes the values of leadership, determination, and teamwork, all skills needed not only on the hardwood but also in life," said Ken Kaufman, Chair of the Bob Cousy Award and former president of the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC). "Mr. Cousy exemplified all of these traits, and continues to be an inspiration to basketball players on and off the court."

    This watch list of candidates will be narrowed down to a final 20 in early February, then final five by early March. A premier Selection Committee has been appointed by the Hall of Fame to review the candidates in contention for the nation's top collegiate point guard award.

    This committee is made up of top college basketball personnel including members of the media, head coaches, media relations contacts and Hall of Famers. The Cousy Award winner will be presented the award on Championship Monday in Dallas at the Hall of Fame's Class of 2014 Announcement and Press Conference.



    Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award have included Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph's), Raymond Felton (North Carolina), Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law (Texas A & M), DJ Augustin (Texas), Ty Lawson (North Carolina), Greivis Vasquez (Maryland), Kemba Walker (Connecticut), Kendall Marshall (North Carolina) and last year's recipient Trey Burke (Michigan). For more information on the 2014 Bob Cousy, log onto

    About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame: Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the Birthplace of Basketball, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame promotes and preserves the game of basketball at every level - professional, collegiate, men and women.

    For more information: Visit us on the web: ... on Twitter: @hoophall #CousyAward ... or call 1-877-4-HOOPLA Hall of Fame Media Contact: Natalie Caldwell, Position Sports 480-652-0097

    2013-14 Bob Cousy Award Watch List

    Trevor Releford, Alabama
    TJ McConnell, Arizona
    Jahii Carson, Arizona State
    Derrick Marks, Boise State
    Walt Lemon, Jr., Bradley
    Justin Cobbs, California
    Kyle Anderson, UCLA
    Billy Baron, Canisus
    Spencer Dinwiddie, Colorado
    Shabazz Napier, Connecticut
    Quinn Cook, Duke
    Brett Comer, Florida Gulf Coast
    Kasey Hill, Florida
    Devon Bookert, Florida State
    Markel Starks, Georgetown
    Kevin Pangos, Gonzaga

    Keifer Sykes, Green Bay
    Siyani Chambers, Harvard
    Brandyn Curry, Harvard
    Kevin Yogi Ferrell, Indiana
    Jake Odum, Indiana State
    DeAndre Kane, Iowa State
    Andrew Harrison, Kentucky
    Elfrid Payton, Lafayette
    Jason Brickman, Long Island-Brooklyn
    Anthony Ireland, Loyola Marymount
    Chris Jones, Louisville
    Chaz Williams, Massachusetts
    Michael Dixon, Memphis
    Joe Jackson, Memphis
    Keith Appling, Michigan State
    Jordan Clarkson, Missouri
    Kendall Williams, New Mexico
    Marcus Paige, North Carolina
    Eric Atkins, Notre Dame
    Aaron Craft, Ohio State
    Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State
    Dominic Artis, Oregon
    Tim Frazier, Penn State
    Kris Dunn, Providence
    Tyler Ennis, Syracuse
    Preston Medlin, Utah State
    Ryan Arcidiacono, Villanova
    Nigel Williams-Goss, Washington
    Semaj Christon, Xavier
    Kendrick Perry, Youngstown State

      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties