Men's Basketball

    No. 24 Indiana Takes on Chicago State Friday

    Go Hoosiers! Evan Gordon
    Go Hoosiers!
    Evan Gordon
    Go Hoosiers!

    Nov. 6, 2013

    Chicago State (0-0) at No. 24 Indiana (0-0)
     Date Friday, Nov. 8, 2013
     Time 7 p.m. ET
     Location Bloomington, Ind. - Assembly Hall (17,472)
     Television (Adam Cohen and Errek Suhr)
     Radio IU Radio Network (Affiliates)
    Game Notes Indiana | Chicago State
    Statistics Indiana | Chicago State
    Live Stats Gametracker
     Social Media @IndianaMBB

    The Last Meeting
    Chicago State59
    December 29, 2007
    Bloomington, Ind.
    Hoosiers Overwhelm Cougars, 97-59
    Eric Gordon scored 22 points, D.J. White had 21 points and a career-high 15 rebounds and Indiana (No. 14 ESPN/USA Today, No. 13 AP) overwhelmed Chicago State 97-59 Saturday night. The Hoosiers have won seven straight overall and 26 in a row at Assembly Hall.

    Indiana will tip-off its 114th season of college basketball when it opens the season against Chicago State from the Western Athletic Conference. IU is coming off a 79-39 win in exhibition action against Hillsdale College. The Hoosiers also defeated the University of Southern Indiana, 83-68, in another exhibition contest.

    Indiana returns sophomore All-Big Ten guard Kevin Yogi Ferrell, who averaged 7.6 points and 4.1 assists last season, and Big Ten Sixth Man of the Year senior wing Will Sheehey, who averaged 9.5 points and 3.5 rebounds during his junior year. In addition, IU boasts a six-man freshman class that was rated as the sixth-best recruiting class in the nation. During the two exhibition games, Ferrell led the Hoosiers averaging 17.0 points per game, while Sheehey knocked in 11.0 points per contest. Six others averaged 5.0 points or better, as 11 players averaged at least 8.5 minutes of playing time. Indiana finished the 2012-13 season with a mark of 29-7 and won their 21st Big Ten Championship with a 14-4 record. The Hoosiers were ranked No. 7 in the final ESPN/USA Today Coaches Poll.

    Chicago State senior forward Matt Ross (10.1 ppg and 6.3 rpg) and senior forward Quinton Pippen (10.4 ppg and 4.2 rpg) have both garnered preseason All-WAC honors. The Cougars also ranked seventh in the nation in steals during the 2012-13 campaign with 9.4 per game.

    Indiana is 56-16, which is second in the Big Ten (.778 winning pct.), 12-8 on the road, 21-13 away from Assembly Hall (road and neutral combined) and 35-2 at home (tied for the most wins in the country at home in that span).

    Indiana named Tom Crean as its 28th men's basketball coach on April 2, 2008, and he is in his sixth year with the Hoosiers. He is 274-178 all-time as a head coach and during the last two years, he has led Indiana to a 56-16 record, the 2013 Big Ten Championship and back-to-back appearances in the Sweet Sixteen for the first time since 1994. In 2012-13, he was named NABC District 7 and USBWA District V Coach of the Year. In 2011-12, Crean was named National Coach of the Year by ESPN's Jason King, and Big Ten Coach of the Year by the Sporting News and the BTN's Tom Dienhart.

    Tracy Dildy is entering his fourth year at Chicago State and led them to the 2013 Great West Tournament Conference Championship. They were 11-22 last season.

    With the exception of four games in Assembly Hall during the holiday season (Evansville, Nicholls State, Kennesaw State, Michigan State), each Indiana home men's basketball game is sold out. IU students purchased 15,772 tickets to be divided each game among 7,800 of their peers. To order tickets for holiday break games, contact the IU Athletics Ticket Office at 1-866-487-7678.

    Indiana has won 15 straight season-openers and 28 consecutive home-openers. Tom Crean is 13-1 all-time in regular season-openers, including five season-openers at Indiana. Crean's teams have outscored their opponents by an average score of 89.4-61.0. In his 14 season openers, Crean's teams have allowed 69 or more points just once.

    This season will likely mark the fifth time in six years under Tom Crean that a freshman will crack the starting lineup - 2008-09: Tom Pritchard, Verdell Jones III, Nick Williams; 2009-10: Christian Watford, Maurice Creek; 2011-12: Cody Zeller; 2012-13: Kevin Yogi Ferrell




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties