Men's Basketball

    D.J. White Named To Naismith Award Preseason Watch List

    Go Hoosiers! D.J. White
    Go Hoosiers!
    D.J. White
    Go Hoosiers!

    Nov. 7, 2007

    Atlanta, Georgia - Indiana senior D.J. White is one of 50 players named to the Naismith Award Watch List which is presented by the Atlanta Tipoff Club.

    The watch list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, which based its pre-season criteria on player performances from last season and expectations for the 2007-08 season. Seniors and juniors accounted for 17 apiece, along with 16 sophomores. The list does not include incoming freshmen, although those student-athletes will be considered in the first vote in January, 2008. The Naismith Trophy is the most prestigious national award presented annually to college basketball's players of the year.

    "The talent level is vast and far-reaching which indicates competition continues to grow at a high rate," said Gary Stokan, Atlanta Tipoff Clubpresident. "The winner of the Naismith Trophy can come from any conference and any class rank, as we witnessed last year with our first ever freshman winner, Kevin Durant of Texas." AT&T will continue to set the standard in allowing fans to participate indetermining this year's winner. Through the power and ease of text messaging, fan voting will account for an unprecedented 25% of the final results - more than any other national college basketball award.

    In January, the Naismith Trophy voting academy, comprised of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country, will narrow its preseason list to the Top 30 players in the nation. Those players, and others who distinguish themselves throughout the season, will be eligible for the final ballot in March. Beginning in mid-February, CBS' "AT&T at the Half" will feature a weekly Naismith Trophy update highlighting the players in contention. In April, the Naismith Trophy winner will be recognized at the NCAA Men's Final Four in San Antonio.

    Last year's Naismith Trophy recipient was University of Texas forward Kevin Durant, who became the first freshmen ever to win the award. Other notable men's college player of the year winners include Bill Walton, Larry Bird, Michael Jordan, Patrick Ewing and David Robinson.



    For more information, visit

    The pre-season Men's candidates for the Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T, listed in alphabetical order, are as follows:

    Anderson, Ryan-California
    Arthur, Darrell-Kansas
    Augustin, DJ-Texas
    Beverley, Patrick-Arkansas
    Carroll, Jaycee-Utah State
    Chalmers, Mario-Ksnas
    Claxton, Geary-Penn State
    Collison, Darren-UCLA
    Costner, Brandon-NC State
    Curry, Stephen-Davidson
    Daniels, Will-Rhode Island
    Dorsey, Joey-Memphis
    Douglas-Roberts, Chris-Memphis
    Ellington, Wayne-UNC
    Gibson, Taj-USC
    Gordon, Jamont-Miss. State
    Hansbrough, Tyler, UNC
    Hardin, DeVon-California
    Henderson, Gerald-Duke
    Heytvelt, Josh-Gonzaga
    Hibbert, Roy-Georgetown
    Hill, Lawrence-Stanford
    James, Dominic-Marquette
    Kemp, Marcelus-Nevada
    Lavender, Drew-Xavier
    Lawson, Ty-UNC
    Lee, Courtney-Western Kentucky
    Lofton, Chris-Tennessee
    Lopez, Brook-Stanford
    Low, Derek-Washington State
    Maric, Aleks-Nebraska
    Maynor, Eric-VCU
    Mbah a Moute, Luc Richard-UCLA
    McCauley, Ben-North Carolina State
    Morgan, Raymar-Michigan State
    Neitzel, Drew-Michigan State
    Nivins, Ahmad-St. Joseph
    Padgett, David-Louisville
    Reynolds, Scottie-Villanova
    Rush, Brandon-Kansas
    Shipp, Josh-UCLA
    Singletary, Sean-Virginia
    Speights, Marreese-Florida
    Thabeet, Hasheem-Connecticut
    Wallace, Jonathan-Georgetown
    Weaver, Kyle-Washington State
    White, DJ-Indiana
    Williams, Terrence-Louisville


    The Atlanta Tipoff Club, an Atlanta Sports Council property, is committed to promoting the game of basketball and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of those who make the game so exciting. The Atlanta Tipoff Club has presented the Naismith Trophy since UCLA's Lew Alcindor first won the award in 1969. Old Dominion's Anne Donovan won the inaugural Women's Naismith Trophy in 1983.

    The Naismith Award has become an emblem of excellence for the game, recognizing the Men's and Women's College Basketball Player of the Year, Men's and Women's College Basketball Coach of the Year, as well as awards for outstanding achievement in high school basketball, officiating, and overall contribution to the game.which


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties