Men's Basketball

    1953 Champs to be Honored Thursday

    Go Hoosiers! <blank>
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!

    Nov. 13, 2012

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - As part of participation in the Progressive Legends Classic, each school will honor a "Legend" from their program. The Indiana men's basketball team will honor the 1953 NCAA Championship squad who will celebrate the 60th anniversary of their title this season.

    They will be honored at halftime of the Nov. 15 game against Sam Houston State and will sign autographs prior to the contest. The first 5,000 fans will receive a commemorative poster.

    Those who have confirmed they are attending include: Ronald Fifer, Manager
    Ron Howard, Manager
    John Wood, Manager
    Burke Scott
    Phil Byers
    Charlie Kraak
    Bobby Leonard
    Jim Schooley
    Dick White
    Jack Wright
    Paul Poff
    Lysa Schlundt Spicer (Representing her father, Don)

    The Hoosiers finished 23-3 overall and 17-1 in the Big Ten. They defeated Kansas, 69-68, to win the national title. For more on the history of the 1953 team, visit Bob Hammel's Hoosier Historia.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties