Men's Basketball

    Hoosiers Fall To Indiana State

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!
    December 11, 1999

    Bloomington, Ind.-Indiana State made history in Assembly Hall on Saturday night as it handed Indiana its first-ever loss in Ameritech Indiana Classic history with a 63-60 victory. It marked the first time in 26 years and 51 games that Indiana suffered a loss in Classic play.

    Kelyn Block led Indiana State (5-4) with 17 points while Matt Renn added 15. Michael Lewis tied a career-high with 19 points to lead the Hoosiers.

    The Hoosiers (6-1) made a late charge and Luke Jimenez's three-point shot rattled off the rim at the buzzer. The Hoosiers pulled within one (61-60) when Lewis drilled a jumper, but Block hit two free throws with 17.9 seconds left to open up a three-point Sycamore lead.

    "Tonight was one of those nights that you just wish you were coaching the other team. We got out-played, out-coached, out-hustled, out-everything tonight. They just dominated us from beginning to end," Indiana head coach Knight said.

    Indiana State took a 16-14 lead with 13:04 left in the first half and never trailed from that point on. The Hoosiers had opened up a 10-2 lead on five points from A.J. Guyton, but Indiana State went on a 12-2 run to take its first lead of the game at 14-12. Renn provided the offensive spark with six straight points.

    The Sycamores held the Hoosiers in check for most of the game as their lead varied from seven points to two points and got as high as 11 with 5:28 left in the game. Indiana cut the lead to five (39-34) at the end of the half after Lewis made a steal and converted on a breakaway.

    Lewis led the Hoosiers in scoring at the half with eight points and Larry Richardson scored six. Renn led Indiana State with 13 first half points as the Sycamores converted on 15 of 31 shots (48 percent).

    The first half lead marked the second straight season that Indiana State owned an advantage over the Hoosiers at the break. Last year Indiana battled from 19 points down in the second half to post a 76-70 victory.

    All-Tournament Team
    Michael Lewis (Indiana)
    Matt Renn (Indiana State)
    Nate Green (Indiana State) MVP
    Michael Menser (Indiana State)
    Chris Davis (North Texas)




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties