Trulock Recognized as Inaugural Wayne Duke Postgraduate Award Recipient

    Go Hoosiers! Kevin Trulock received the inaugural Wayne Duke Postgraduate Award.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Kevin Trulock received the inaugural Wayne Duke Postgraduate Award.
    Go Hoosiers!

    March 12, 2008

    INDIANAPOLIS - Kevin Trulock, a football player from Indiana University, and Molly Crispell, a swimmer from Penn State University, are the 2008 recipients of the Wayne Duke Postgraduate Award presented by the Indianapolis Big Ten Community Partnership. The award is an annual scholarship recognizing one male and one female Big Ten senior student-athlete pursuing a postgraduate degree for achievements in academics, athletics, civic service and leadership.

    In recognition of the Big Ten's leadership in fully integrating athletics into the academic mission of its member institutions, the Indianapolis Big Ten Community Partnership initiated the Wayne Duke Postgraduate Award. Each Big Ten institution was asked to nominate one male and one female student-athlete and for 2008, each award is $2,500. Trulock and Crispell will be honored during a presentation at halftime of the Big Ten Men's Basketball Tournament championship game on Sunday, March 16.

    The Wayne Duke Postgraduate Award is named for the former Big Ten Conference commissioner who served from 1971-89. While leading the Big Ten, Duke spent much of his time working to improve academic standards and graduation rates for student-athletes.

    Trulock, a biology major, carries a 4.0 grade point average. He will attend the Indiana University School of Medicine beginning in the fall of 2008. As a placekicker on the IU football team, Trulock has earned the following academic awards: Academic All-Big Ten Conference, Draddy Award Semifinalist, and the Ted Whereatt Senior Academic Excellence Award.

    Trulock currently works for Bloomington Hospital as a phlebotomist. Over the years, he has served as chairman of the Student Athletic Board, an undergraduate teaching intern mentoring students enrolled in biology classes, and as a student tutor for the Teen Learning Center, tutoring underprivileged teens preparing to take the GED.

    "The Big Ten and its member institutions place great value on athletic and academic success, civic service and leadership," said Big Ten Commissioner James E. Delany. "Former Commissioner Wayne Duke focused on these principles throughout his tenure and this award is properly named in his honor. We congratulate Kevin and Molly for this tremendous accolade and thank the Indianapolis Big Ten Community Partnership for recognizing the efforts of Big Ten student-athletes."



    "Kevin and Molly are incredible examples of the commitment and talent exemplified in Big Ten student-athletes," said Jerry Semler of the Indianapolis Local Organizing Committee. "The Wayne Duke Award appropriately recognizes these two student-athletes for their accomplishments and future aspirations, and we are pleased to present these inaugural awards and look forward to recognizing student-athletes for years to come. These awards are made possible through a tremendous amount of community support and we thank those who have made contributions."

    The Wayne Duke Postgraduate Award is made possible by donations from local corporations and individuals supporting collegiate student-athletes. The Indianapolis Big Ten Community Partnership consists of the State of Indiana, City of Indianapolis, Indiana Sports Corporation, Pacers Sports & Entertainment, and the Indianapolis Convention & Visitors Association.

    Legendary Conseco Fieldhouse will host both the Big Ten Men's and Women's Basketball Tournaments through 2012. All-session and single-session tickets to the Big Ten Men's Basketball Tournament can be purchased through the Conseco Fieldhouse box office, Ticketmaster outlets, , or by calling Ticketmaster at (317) 239-5151.


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties