Nowatzke on College Football Hall of Fame Ballot

    Go Hoosiers! Former Indiana fullback Tom Nowatzke (1962-64) is on the ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Former Indiana fullback Tom Nowatzke (1962-64) is on the ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame.
    Go Hoosiers!

    March 19, 2012

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - The National Football Foundation (NFF) announced the names of 76 players and eight coaches who comprise the 2012 Football Bowl Subdivision Ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame.

    Former Indiana fullback Tom Nowatzke (1962-64) is on the ballot. Nowatzke earned first team All-America honors in 1964 and played professionally with the Detroit Lions and the Baltimore Colts.

    A two-time All-Conference selection (1963-64), he led the Big Ten in rushing in 1963. Nowatzke played in the East-West Shrine Game, the Senior Bowl and the Coaches All-American Game.

    "Having a ballot and a voice in the selection of the inductees is one of the most cherished NFF member benefits," said NFF Chairman Archie Manning, a 1989 Hall of Fame inductee from Ole Miss. "There is no group more knowledgeable or passionate about college football than our membership, and the tradition of the ballot helps us engage them in the lofty responsibility of selecting those who have reached the pinnacle of achievement in our sport."

    The FBS Hall of Fame Class will be announced live in New York City during a noon press conference on May 15 and inducted at the 55th NFF Annual Awards Dinner on December 4, 2012 at the landmark Waldorf=Astoria Hotel in New York City. 

    To be eligible for the ballot, players must have been named a First Team All-America by a major/national selector as recognized and utilized by the NCAA for their consensus All-America teams; played their last year of intercollegiate football at least ten years prior; played within the last 50 years and cannot be currently playing professional football. Coaches must have coached a minimum of 10 years and 100 games as a head coach; won at least 60% of their games; and be retired from coaching for at least three years. If a coach is retired and over the age of 70, there is no waiting period. If he is over the age of 75, he is eligible as an active coach. In both cases, the candidate's post-football record as a citizen may also be weighed.



    Once nominated for consideration, all player candidates are submitted to one of eight District Screening Committees, depending on their school's geographic location, which conducts a vote to determine who will appear on the ballot and represent their respective districts. Each year, approximately 15 candidates, who are not selected for the Hall of Fame, will be named automatic holdovers and will bypass the district screening process and automatically appear on the ballot the following year. Additionally, the Veterans Committee may make recommendations to Honors Court for exceptions that allow for the induction of players who played more than 50 years ago. 

 Of the 4.86 million individuals who have played college football since Princeton first battled Rutgers on November 6, 1869, only 900 players have earned induction into the College Football Hall of Fame, or less than .0002 percent of those who have played the game during the past 143 years. From the coaching ranks, 194 individuals have achieved Hall of Fame distinction.

    The 2012 Divisional College Football Hall of Fame Class will be inducted and enshrined simultaneously July 20-21 in South Bend, Ind., joining the 2011 Football Bowl Subdivision Hall of Fame Class, which was inducted this past December, at their enshrinement.


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties