Middleton Named to Lott Trophy Watch List

    Go Hoosiers! Junior defensive end Greg Middleton was named to the Lott Trophy Watch List.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Junior defensive end Greg Middleton was named to the Lott Trophy Watch List.
    Go Hoosiers!

    April 4, 2008

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Indiana junior defensive end Greg Middleton is among 42 of the nation's top collegiate defensive players who have been named to the 2008 Lott Trophy Watch List released on Friday. The Indianapolis product is also on the 2008 Rotary Lombardi Award Preliminary Watch List.

    Middleton picked up All-America distinction from the Associated Press, The Sporting News,,, and one season ago. He was selected as a finalist for the Ted Hendricks Defensive End of the Year Award and became the first IU defensive lineman since Adewale Ogunleye in 1997 to earn first team All-Big Ten honors. Middleton set a new single-season school record with 16 sacks, which also led the nation.

    Thirty-five different schools are represented on the Watch List. Named after Hall of Famer Ronnie Lott, The Lott Trophy is awarded to college football's Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year. Now in its fourth year, The Lott Trophy is the first college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player.

    Sponsored by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, the award is given to a player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

    David Pollack of Georgia won the initial Lott Trophy in 2004. DeMeco Ryans of Alabama won the award in 2005 Daymeion Hughes of Cal was the recipient in 2006 and Glenn Dorsey of LSU in 2007. Georgia, Alabama, Cal and LSU each received $25,000 for their general scholarship funds. In four years, the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation has donated more than $450,000 to various charities, including the four universities.

    Voters for the award include selected members of the national media, previous finalists, the Board of Directors of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, The IMPACT Foundation Board of Advisers comprised of many retired NFL players and Master Coaches, a distinguished group of former head college coaches.



    The winner will be announced at a gala black-tie banquet at The Pacific Club in Newport Beach, Ca. on December 14th, 2008.

    For further information on the Lott Trophy, please visit our website at


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties