Sears, Trulock Named to NFF Hampshire Honor Society

    Go Hoosiers! Josiah Sears (pictured) and Kevin Trulock were named to the NFF Hampshire Honor Society.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Josiah Sears (pictured) and Kevin Trulock were named to the NFF Hampshire Honor Society.
    Go Hoosiers!

    April 11, 2008

    DALLAS - The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) announced Indiana fullback Josiah Sears and kicker Kevin Trulock are members of the 2008 NFF Hampshire Honor Society, which is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a 3.2 GPA or better. A total of 439 players from 226 schools qualified for membership in the society's second year, an increase of more than 25 percent from the inaugural class in 2007.

    "It's a privilege to a part of this initiative," said Florida State President and NFF Hampshire Honor Society National Advisory Committee Chairman Dr. T.K. Wetherell. "I am pleased to see the strong membership growth that NFF Hampshire Honor Society produced in its second year. I would encourage coaches at all levels to tap the competitive spirit of their teams and promote membership and academic performance as a point pride among their players."

    The NFF Hampshire Honor Society capitalizes on the NFF's current National Scholar-Athlete program, greatly expanding the number of scholar-athletes the NFF can recognize each year and further strengthening its leadership role in encouraging academic performance by the student-athletes who play football at the more than 700 college and universities with football programs.

    "Thanks to the generosity of The Hampshire Foundation, the National Football Foundation is extending its reach as a pioneer in the promotion of the scholar-athlete ideal with the NFF Hampshire Honor Society," said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. "We strongly believe that football is unique in its ability to foster academic achievement in our young people, and this year's class contains countless examples of our nation's brightest young leaders."

    Qualifications for membership in the inaugural NFF National Honor Society include:

    *Being a starter or a significant substitute in one's last year of eligibility at an accredited NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III, or an NAIA college or university;
    *Achieving a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout entire course of undergraduate study; and
    *Meeting all NCAA-mandated progress towards degree requirements.



    Since its inception, the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards program has awarded $8.6 million to 693 top scholars and community leaders. Currently, the NFF distributes more than $300,000 a year at the national level through the program to 15 individuals. Each winner of a National Scholar-Athlete Award receives an $18,000 post-graduate scholarship. Additionally, the Draddy Trophy, presented by HealthSouth, is given to one member of each year's class as the absolute best. The winner of the Draddy, claimed by Texas longhorn center Dallas Griffin in 2007, receives a total scholarship of $25,000 and a stunning 24-inch, 25-pound bronze trophy. Through, its chapter network, the NFF awards an additional $800,000 to local high school student-athletes, bringing the NFF's annual scholarship total to more than $1.1 million.


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties