Middleton Earns Spot on Nagurski Watch List

    Go Hoosiers! Greg Middleton found his way onto his third watch list this preseason.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Greg Middleton found his way onto his third watch list this preseason.
    Go Hoosiers!

    May 12, 2008

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Indiana defensive end Greg Middleton has been named to the Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List, the Football Writers Association of America announced on Monday afternoon. The trophy is awarded to the best defensive player in college football and is sponsored by the Charlotte Touchdown Club.

    Middleton, who is one of 88 players on the list, is also on the Rotary Lombardi Award Preliminary Watch List and the Lott Trophy Watch List. The Indianapolis native picked up All-America distinction from the Associated Press, The Sporting News,,, and one season ago.

    He was selected as a finalist for the Ted Hendricks Defensive End of the Year Award and became the first IU defensive lineman since Adewale Ogunleye in 1997 to earn first team All-Big Ten honors. Middleton set a new single-season school record with 16 sacks, which also led the nation.

    The FWAA All-America Committee selects the Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner from the association's 11-man All-America defensive team in November. The watch list was developed by the FWAA All-America committee with the help of the schools and conferences.

    The Charlotte Touchdown Club will hold the 2008 banquet on Sunday, Dec. 7, at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte. For the eighth straight season, the FWAA will also pick a Bronko Nagurski Defensive Player of the Week beginning with games on Aug. 30 and running through the middle of November. And a Bronko Nagurski Legends Award winner will also be selected from the FWAA's 1967 All-America team.

    The Bronko Nagurski Trophy has been presented since 1993 and is awarded in memory of the legendary Nagurski, a former All-America lineman at Minnesota in 1927-29 and a star for professional football's Chicago Bears in the 1930s.

    The 2007 Nagurski Trophy winner, LSU defensive tackle Glenn Dorsey, was selected No. 5 overall by the Kansas City Chiefs in the 2008 NFL Draft. The two other 2007 Nagurski finalists also fared well in the NFL Draft: Virginia end Chris Long went No. 2 overall to the St. Louis Rams and Kansas defensive back Aqib Talib was the No. 20 overall selection by the Tampa Bay Buccaneers.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties