Middleton Makes Way onto Fourth Watch List

    Go Hoosiers! Junior defensive end Greg Middleton is on the Chuck Bednarik Award Watch List.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Junior defensive end Greg Middleton is on the Chuck Bednarik Award Watch List.
    Go Hoosiers!

    June 30, 2008

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Indiana defensive end Greg Middleton has been named to the Chuck Bednarik Award Watch List, the Maxwell Football Club announced on Monday afternoon. The award is given to the best defensive player in college football and is the fourth preseason watch list Middleton has found himself on.

    Middleton is also on the the Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List, the Rotary Lombardi Award Preliminary Watch List and the Lott Trophy Watch List. The Indianapolis native picked up All-America distinction from the Associated Press, The Sporting News,,, and one season ago.

    He was selected as a finalist for the Ted Hendricks Defensive End of the Year Award and became the first IU defensive lineman since Adewale Ogunleye in 1997 to earn first team All-Big Ten honors. Middleton set a new single-season school record with 16 sacks, which also led the nation.

    The Chuck Bednarik Award has been presented since 1995 and is named in honor of Chuck Bednarik, a former University of Pennsylvania and Philadelphia Eagle great. Mr. Bednarik is a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame (1969) and the NFL Hall of Fame (1967).

    Semifinalists for the Bednarik Award will be announced in early November and three finalists will be announced Nov. 25. The winner of the 2008 Bednarik Award will be announced as part of the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show in December. The formal presentation of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Harrah's Entertainment Atlantic City on March 6, 2009.

    The watch list candidates have been chosen by the Maxwell Football Club's Selection Committee and the Maxwell Club reserves the right to make additions and subtractions to these lists as the 2008 season unfolds. All members of the Maxwell Football Club, NCAA Sports Information Directors, Head Coaches and selected national media are eligible to vote for these awards.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties