Bolser Back On Mackey Award Watch List

    Go Hoosiers! Ted Bolser
    Go Hoosiers!
    Ted Bolser
    Go Hoosiers!

    July 9, 2013

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Indiana senior tight end Ted Bolser has been named to the 2013 John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List. Given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end, the award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee.

    Bolser is a member of the watch list for the third consecutive season. In 2012, he became the third tight end in school history and the 36th player overall to reach 1,000 career receiving yards. He now has 1,017 yards (35th all-time), nine TDs, which is an Indiana tight end record, and 82 receptions, which is second to Bob Stephenson (115 from 1978-81).

    The All-Big Ten selection hauled in 41 passes for 445 yards during his junior campaign. Both those totals ranked third on IU's tight single season list.

    The 2013 John Mackey honoree will be presented live on December 12, 2013 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show: 6:00 p.m. ET on ESPNU. Other key dates include the announcement of the 2013 Mackey Midseason Watch List on October 14, 2013, the 2013 Mackey Semi-finalists on November 18, 2013 and the 2013 Mackey Finalists on November 25, 2013. All future announcements can be found at

    NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position. A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA.

    The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, lists twelve NFL players as alumni: two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham ('01), 2006 Super Bowl Champion Dallas Clark ('02), Kellen Winslow II ('03) of the New York Jets, two-time Super Bowl Champion Heath Miller ('04) of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Marcedes Lewis ('05) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, 2008 Super Bowl Champion Matt Spaeth ('06) of the of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Fred Davis ('07) of the Washington Redskins, Chase Coffman ('08) of the Atlanta Falcons, Aaron Hernandez ('09), D.J. Williams ('10) of the Green Bay Packers, Dwayne Allen ('11) of the Indianapolis Colts and the 2012 John Mackey Award recipient Tyler Eifert of the Cincinnati Bengals.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties