LoVecchio Named to Watch List

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!
    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Indiana University senior quarterback Matt LoVecchio was named to the preseason watch list for the 2004 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award, given annually to the nation's top signal caller.

    The Franklin Lakes, N.J., native was one of four quarterbacks named from the Big Ten. He joins Illinois' Jon Beutjer, Penn State's Zack Mills and Purdue's Kyle Orton. Beutjer, LoVecchio and Orton were also among the preseason honorees last season.

    LoVecchio started 11 games for the Hoosiers in 2003, while passing for 1,778 yards and three touchdowns. His top single game effort came against Kentucky when he completed 17-of-32 passes for 266 yards and a touchdown.

    Three former Big Ten quarterbacks have earned the O'Brien Award in Iowa's Brad Banks (2002) and Chuck Long (1985) and Penn State's Kerry Collins (1994).

    The O'Brien Award, established in 1977, is one of the oldest awards in the country for college quarterbacks and is named in honor of the late Davey O'Brien. O'Brien was an All-American and Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback for Texas Christian University. He led the Horned Frogs to the 1938 national championship.

    Semifinalists will be announced in early November and narrowed to three finalists later in that month by the O'Brien National Advisory Committee. The committee is comprised of nationally known sportswriters, commentators and other members of the media. The winner of the 2004 O'Brien Award will be announced Dec. 9 on the ESPN College Football Awards Show in Orlando, Fla.

    The 42 candidates on the watch list are:
    Derek Anderson, Oregon State
    Reggie Ball, Georgia Tech
    Brock Berlin, Miami (Fla.)
    Jon Beutjer, Illinois
    Timmy Chang, Hawaii
    Kellen Clemens, Oregon
    Brodie Croyle, Alabama
    Jay Cutler, Vanderbilt
    Darian Durant, North Carolina
    Charlie Frye, Akron
    Bruce Gradkowski, Toledo
    David Greene, Georgia
    Gino Guidugli, Cincinnati
    Darrell Hackney, UAB
    Josh Haldi, Northern Illinois
    Scott Hall, North Texas
    Stan Hill, Marshall
    Matt Jones, Arkansas
    Stefan LeFors, Louisville
    Chris Leak, Florida
    Matt Leinart, USC
    Matt LoVecchio, Indiana
    James Kilian, Tulsa
    Joel Klatt, Colorado
    Kevin Kolb, Houston
    Reggie McNeal, Texas A&M
    R. Marshall, West Virginia
    Zack Mills, Penn State
    Kyle Orton, Purdue
    Dan Orlovsky, Connecticut
    Brady Quinn, Notre Dame
    Paul Pinegar, Fresno State
    Bryan Randall, Virginia Tech
    Chris Rix, Florida State
    Aaron Rodgers, California
    Alex Smith, Utah
    Brad Smith, Missouri
    Andrew Walter, Arizona State
    Jason White, Oklahoma
    Charlie Whitehurst, Clemson
    Danny Wimprine, Memphis
    Vince Young, Texas




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties