Kirlew Selected to Bednarik Award Watch List

    Go Hoosiers! Jammie Kirlew was selected to the Bednarik Award Watch List in addition to the Ted Hendricks Award Watch List.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Jammie Kirlew was selected to the Bednarik Award Watch List in addition to the Ted Hendricks Award Watch List.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Aug. 13, 2009

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - A week after earning a spot on the Ted Hendricks Watch List, Indiana defensive end Jammie Kirlew was selected to the Chuck Bednarik Award Watch List, Maxwell Football Club President Ron Jaworski announced Thursday afternoon. The senior is one of 55 players and one of eight Big Ten standouts on the list.

    The Chuck Bednarik Award, presented to the college defensive player of the year, has been presented since 1995 and is named in honor of Chuck Bednarik, a former University of Pennsylvania and Philadelphia Eagle great. Mr. Bednarik is a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame 1969 and the NFL Hall of Fame 1967.

    Kirlew was selected first team All-Big Ten by Lindy's preseason magazine and Sporting News and preseason All-Big Ten by Athlon Sports. He is also rated the eighth-best defensive end in the country by Lindy's.

    The Orlando native earned first team All-Big Ten from the conference media and second team by the league's coaches and collected honorable mention All-American honors last season. He also secured second team All-Big Ten and received the team's Anthony Thompson MVP Award, outstanding defensive lineman award and defensive player of the year honors.

    Kirlew finished the 2008 campaign with 10.5 sacks and 19.5 tackles for loss, both ranked fourth on Indiana's single-season list. Additionally, he was second in the Big Ten and tied for 14th nationally in sacks and third in the league and sixth nationally in tackles for loss.

    Along with teammate and bookend on the defensive line, Greg Middleton, the duo owns 36.5 career sacks between them (Kirlew, 16.5), the highest total for a tandem in the country.

    Semifinalists for the Chuck Bednarik Award will be announced on November 4 and three finalists for the award will be announced November 23. The winner of the 2009 Chuck Bednarik Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show which will be held on December 10, 2009. The formal presentation of this award will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Harrah's Entertainment Atlantic City on March 5, 2010.



    The watch list candidates have been chosen by the Maxwell Football Club's Selection Committee and the Maxwell Club reserves the right to make additions and subtractions to these lists as the 2009 season unfolds.

    All members of the Maxwell Football Club, NCAA Sports Information Directors, Head Coaches and selected national media are eligible to vote for these awards.

    The Maxwell and Chuck Bednarik Awards are members of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official website,

    Any questions or requests for additional information can be directed to Maxwell Club Vice President of Collegiate Awards Mark Wolpert (


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties