Thompson to be Honored at Halftime of IU-Illinois Game

    Go Hoosiers! Two-time All-American Anthony Thompson will be honored at halftime of Saturday's game against Illinois.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Two-time All-American Anthony Thompson will be honored at halftime of Saturday's game against Illinois.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Sept. 20, 2007

    Indiana University will honor two-time All-American Anthony Thompson for his election into the College Football Hall of Fame during halftime of Saturday's game against Illinois. Additionally, the 1987 team that advanced to the Peach Bowl will be honored at the game, which is slated to kick off at noon.

    Below is a copy of the release announcing Thompson's induction to the Hall of Fame.

    Former Indiana running back Anthony Thompson was selected to the College Football Hall of Fame on Wednesday, May 9. The two-time All-America selection is one of 12 players and two coaches in the 2007 class.

    Thompson will be honored at the National Football Foundation's 50th Annual Awards Dinner in New York City Dec. 4. He is the sixth Hoosier to earn induction into the Hall of Fame, joining Zora Clevenger (1900-03), Alvin "Bo" McMillin (1934-47), John Tavener (1941-44), Pete Pihos (1942-43, '45-46) and George Taliaferro (1945, '47-48).

    "This honor would not have been possible without Coach Mallory, his coaching staff and my teammates. Whenever I receive an honor, I always reflect on my relationship with them. I'm not going into the Hall of Fame because of Anthony Thompson; I'm going in because of all of those guys. It's a great honor for Indiana University and everyone associated with the Indiana football program."

    Thompson, who starred for the Hoosiers from 1986-89, earned first team All-America recognition following both his junior and senior seasons. A two-time Big Ten rushing champion, he captured the NCAA rushing and scoring titles during his senior campaign and was named the Walter Camp Foundation's Player of the Year, the AFCA "Coaches Choice" Player of the Year, won the Maxwell Award as the nation's finest college football player and finished second in the 1989 Heisman Trophy voting. Thompson finished his career with 5,299 rushing yards, including 377 yards in a game at Wisconsin in 1989.

    The Terre Haute, Ind., native held the Division I record for career touchdowns with 65 until the 1998 season, when it was broken by Texas' Ricky Williams. He also held the Big Ten record for points scored with 412, a total that was surpassed by Wisconsin's Ron Dayne in 1999. Following a stellar collegiate career, the Phoenix Cardinals selected Thompson in the second round of the 1990 NFL draft. He was a member of the Cardinals from 1990-92 and finished his career with the Los Angeles Rams.



    Oklahoma center Tom Brahaney (1970-72), Michigan defensive back Dave Brown (1972-74), Clemson linebacker Jeff Davis (1978-81), Central Michigan coach Herb Deromedi (1978-93), Boston College quarterback Doug Flutie (1981-84), Texas safety Johnnie Johnson (1976-79), Ohio State quarterback Rex Kern (1968-70), Penn State coach Joe Paterno (1966-present), Oregon running back/wide receiver Ahmad Rashad, Houston defensive tackle Wilson Whitley (1973-76), Dartmouth linebacker Reggie Williams (1973-75), Southern California linebacker Richard Wood (1972-74) and Notre Dame defensive tackle Chris Zorich (1987-90) make up the rest of the 2007 class.


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties