Chappell Earns National Football Foundation National Scholar-Athlete Award

    Go Hoosiers! Fifth-year senior quarterback Ben Chappell earned a prestigious National Football Foundation National Scholar-Athlete Award.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Fifth-year senior quarterback Ben Chappell earned a prestigious National Football Foundation National Scholar-Athlete Award.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Oct. 28, 2010

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Indiana fifth-year senior quarterback Ben Chappell has been named one of 16 recipients of the 2010 National Football Foundation National Scholar-Athlete Award. As a recipient, Chappell will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship and will be eligible for the 21st William V. Campbell Trophy, recognizing the best scholar-athlete in the nation.

    "Ben Chappell carries all the qualities we are looking for in a student-athlete," IU Vice President and Director of Athletics Fred Glass. "He is an exemplary student, a leader on the field and a model citizen in the community. We congratulate him on this honor and are proud to have him represent Indiana University."

    "There is not much else to say about Ben that hasn't already been said," Indiana Head Coach Bill Lynch said. "This is an incredible honor. He means so much to our entire program and is a special young man. We could not be happier for Ben on his earning a NFF National-Scholar Athlete Award."

    Chappell is currently working toward his MBA in business systems and accounting. A three-time Academic All-Big Ten selection, he will likely earn his fourth honor this fall. Chappell garnered a spot on the ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District V team as a junior.

    The Bloomington South High School graduate is also a member of the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team and was a nominee for the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award. He completed his bachelor's degree in accounting on June 30, 2010, with a 3.70 GPA. Chappell was also a 2009-10 Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award recipient (3.7 GPA over the academic year).

    A two-year starter at quarterback and team captain, Chappell leads the Big Ten in passing and is on pace to become the most prolific quarterback in the history of Indiana University football. Chappell ranks among IU's top ten in passing yardage, completions, completion percentage, passing touchdowns, total offense, 300-yard games, 250-yard games and 200-yard games. In 2009, Chappell became the first quarterback in IU history to complete greater than 60 percent of his passes in a single season, connecting on 60.4 percent of his throws. This season, Chappell has completed 184-of-278 passes (66.2 percent) for 2,137 yards with 17 touchdowns, one rushing TD, six interceptions, 305.3 yards per game and a 146.6 passing efficiency, and he is a quarterfinalist for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award.



    "We are ecstatic about the quality of this year's remarkable National Scholar-Athlete Class. They stand as a testament to our mission of building leaders through football," said NFF President & CEO Steven J. Hatchell. "From top to bottom, this group has established itself as one of the greatest in the 50-plus years of this program, boasting an impressive array of academic and athletic achievements. We look forward to presenting each of them an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship to further their education, as there are no limits to what these young men will accomplish following their football careers."

    The NFF's National Scholar-Athlete program, launched in 1959, is the first initiative in the history to award scholar-athletes postgraduate scholarships for their combined athletic, academic and leadership abilities. This year's class members finds themselves in good company, as past National Scholar-Athletes include former NFL standout Derrick Brooks (Florida State); actor Mark Harmon (UCLA); NASA astronaut Leland Melvin (Richmond); former Dateline NBC anchor Stone Phillips (Yale); chairman of Augusta National Golf Club, home of the Masters Tournament, Billy Payne (Georgia); famed NFL quarterback Steve Young (BYU); and Heisman Trophy winners Terry Baker (Oregon State), Gary Beban (UCLA), Doug Flutie (Boston College) and Danny Wuerffel (Florida).

    "The 2010 National Scholar-Athlete Class represents all that is right about college football," said NFF Chairman Archie Manning, whose sons Peyton (Campbell winner) and Eli were NFF National Scholar-Athletes in 1997 and 2003, respectively. "They have balanced practice with difficult majors like mechanical engineering and biology. They've also taken their passion for helping others beyond their local communities, taking medical and mission trips overseas to help those less fortunate than themselves. They are prime role models for future generations of young men in this country."

    Each finalist will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship, and one of the 16 will be announced as the recipient of the 21st William V. Campbell Trophy, endowed by HealthSouth, which recognizes an individual as the absolute best scholar-athlete in the nation. Renamed last fall in honor of Bill Campbell, the chairman of Intuit, former player and head coach at Columbia University and the 2004 recipient of the NFF's Gold Medal, the award comes with a 25-pound bronze trophy and a $25,000 post-graduate scholarship. A total distribution of $300,000 in scholarships will be awarded that evening.

    Nominated by their schools, which are limited to one nominee each, candidates must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility, have a grade point average of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The 121 semifinalists for the award were announced on Sept. 30, and the class is selected each year by the NFF Awards Committee, which is comprised of a nationally recognized group of media, College Football Hall of Famers and athletics administrators.

    The 2010 National Scholar-Athlete Class will be honored at the 2010 NFF Annual Awards Dinner December 7 at the Waldorf Astoria in New York City. The event will also include the induction of the 2010 College Football Hall of Fame Class and the presentation of several major awards, including the organization's highest honor, the Gold Medal, to American icon Bill Cosby and the Distinguished American Award to renowned journalist and author Tom Brokaw.


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties