Replogle ARA Sportsmanship Award Finalist for Second Straight Year

    Go Hoosiers! Defensive tackle Adam Replogle is an ARA Sportsmanship Award finalist for the second straight year.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Defensive tackle Adam Replogle is an ARA Sportsmanship Award finalist for the second straight year.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Nov. 1, 2012

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - With a record-breaking number of nominees, the results are in for this year's top 10 finalists for the annual Awards and Recognition Association Sportsmanship Award, and Indiana senior defensive tackle Adam Replogle is a finalist for the second straight year.

    Given annually to one outstanding NCAA Division I collegiate football player who best personifies the spirit of sportsmanship, the award is now in its eighth year. The 2012 Awards and Recognition Association Sportsmanship Award recipient will be chosen from the 10 finalists and announced later this year.

    Replogle is also a finalist for the Senior CLASS Award, a nominee for the AFCA Good Works Team and was a semifinalist for the William V. Campbell Trophy. He has served as a game captain eight times this season and 19 times in his career.

    The Centerville, Ohio, native has started 43 straight games after his Hoosier debut as a true freshman in 2009. A four-time IU defensive player of the week in 2012, Replogle leads all Hoosiers with 165 tackles, 14 sacks, which shares 10th in school history, and 22.5 tackles for loss (tied with Larry Black) in his career.

    He sits atop the team with four sacks and two forced fumbles, which is tied for second in the Big Ten. Replogle shares the top spot with seven tackles for loss and is third with 52 tackles. His 6.3 tackles per game top all Big Ten defensive linemen.

    In 2011, Replogle was elected a team captain, earned All-District V honors (second straight year), was a finalist for the ARA Sportsmanship Award and collected Academic All-Big Ten honors (second straight year).

    The 2012 finalists are:

    1. Adam Replogle, Indiana University
    2. Matt Barkley, University of Southern California
    3. Manti Te'o, University of Notre Dame
    4. Rex Burkhead, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
    5. Barrett Jones, University of Alabama
    6. Akeem Davis, University of Memphis
    7. Collin Klein, Kansas State University
    8. Nick Carlson, University of Wyoming
    9. Eric Soza, University of Texas - San Antonio
    10. Duron Harmon, Rutgers University



    "This is our eighth year recognizing excellence among college football players, and this year we once again reviewed submissions from a plethora of positive role-model athletes," according to former Brigham Young University Head Football Coach LaVell Edwards who chairs the selection committee.

    Previous Awards and Recognition Association Award recipients are Alabama offensive lineman, Barrett Jones (2011); Arizona Cardinals and former University of Texas defensive end, Sam Acho (2010); Miami Dolphin and former Kansas State University tight end, Jeron Mastrud (2009), Chicago Bears and former Northwestern University receiver Eric Peterman (2008); Winnipeg Blue Bombers and former Washington State quarterback Alex Brink (2007); Cincinnati Bengels and former Rutgers University fullback, Brian Leonard (2006) and, Carolina Panthers and former University of Memphis running back, DeAngelo Williams (2005).

    "This is a rock solid group of impressive young men who live and breathe positive sportsmanship on and off the field," said Awards and Recognition Association president Lori Warren, CRM." As the only national award that recognizes an athlete's character and leadership as it translates to sportsmanship, the Awards and Recognition Association Sportsmanship Award was created seven years ago to shed light on these important traits."

    To qualify for the award, an athlete must be a starting player or significant contributor on his team; be in good academic standing; demonstrate great respect for competitors, school, teammates and coaches; show an ability to accept victory and defeat graciously; convey a high degree of humility and integrity; and demonstrate commitment in the classroom and to the community.

    Along with selection committee chair LaVell Edwards, the other members of the committee include:

    Bobby Bowden (Florida State)
    Fisher DeBerry (Air Force Academy)
    Spike Dykes (Texas Tech)
    Don James (Washington)
    Dick MacPherson (Syracuse)
    Tubby Raymond (Delaware)
    Gene Stallings (Alabama)
    Ted Tollner (University of Southern California)
    Hub Arkush (Pro Football Weekly)
    Christine Brennan, USA Today
    Jeron Mastrud (Kansas State, 2009 Recipient)
    Eric Peterman (Northwestern University, 2008 Recipient)
    Alex Brink (Washington State, 2007 Recipient)
    Daniel Doyle, Jr. (Executive Director, the Institute for International Sport)
    John Humenik (Executive Director, College Sports Information Directors of America)
    Bernie Kish (Former Executive Director, College Football Hall of Fame)
    Lisa Klunder (Executive Director, Kelly Cares Foundation)
    Grant Teaff (Executive Director, American Football Coaches Association)
    Jim Thompson (Founder and Executive Director, the Positive Coaching Alliance)
    Lori Warren, CRM (President, Awards and Recognition Association)

    For more details, visit


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties