Kirlew Selected Finalist for ARA Sportsmanship Award

    Go Hoosiers! Jammie Kirlew is one of 10 finalists for the ARA Sportsmanship Award.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Jammie Kirlew is one of 10 finalists for the ARA Sportsmanship Award.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Nov. 4, 2009

    Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -Indiana senior defensive end Jammie Kirlew is one of 10 finalists for the fifth annual Awards and Recognition Association (ARA) annual sportsmanship award, given to one outstanding NCAA Bowl Division collegiate football player who best personifies the spirit of sportsmanship.

    Other finalists include Mike Anello - Notre Dame, Andrew Brewer - Northwestern, Russel Fisher - Saint Francis, Tim Hiller - Western Michigan, Jeron Mastrud, Kansas State, Matt Reagan - Memphis, Adam Rundh - Valparaiso, Phillip Tanner - Middle Tennessee State, Reed Williams - West Virginia.

    Earlier this season Kirlew earned a spot on the 2009 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team®, honoring dedicated and hard-working student-athletes for their off-the-field achievements and selfless contributions to their communities. Kirlew and the other 10 student-athletes chosen on the FBS team will be recognized at halftime of the Allstate Sugar Bowl on January 1.

    Kirlew has embraced the student-athlete experience in his time at IU. A three-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree, Kirlew has given much of his free time to the community. He is active in the Big Brothers/Big Sisters Program and has volunteered his time at the Bloomington Boys & Girls Club.

    Additionally, he volunteered for President Barack Obama's campaign, helping to register voters for the 2008 Presidential Election. The Orlando, Fla., native also took advantage of Indiana's study abroad program, spending the summer of 2006 in Italy.

    The 2009 Sportsmanship Award recipient will be chosen from one of these 10 finalists and announced this December. Finalists are represented from a variety of schools of all sizes throughout the United States from West Virginia and Kansas to Indiana and Illinois.

    Previous winners are Northwestern University receiver Eric Peterman (2008); Washington State quarterback Alex Brink (2007); Cincinnati Bengals fullback Brian Leonard (2006); and Carolina Panthers running back, DeAngelo Williams (2005).

    "As the only national award that recognizes an athlete's character and leadership as it translates to sportsmanship, the ARA Sportsmanship Award was created five years ago to shed light on these positive traits," said Glenn Beckworth, president of the ARA.

    "It's encouraging to cull through such a great number of high caliber nominations. These young men are role models and stand out players who give 100 plus percent both on the football field and in life."

    To qualify for the award, an athlete must be a starting player or significant contributor on his team; be an athlete in good academic standing; demonstrate great respect for competitors, school, teammates and coaches; show an ability to accept victory and defeat graciously; convey a high degree of humility and integrity; and demonstrate commitment in the classroom and to the community.

    Former Brigham Young University Head Football Coach LaVell Edwards chairs the selection committee. "We're uncovering some of the finest players the sport has to offer. These young men have a common thread of a positive attitude, strong work ethic and sense of fair play that is translated to their conduct on and off the playing field," notes Edwards.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties